MAXLOGMEMBER exceeded but no error
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MAXLOGMEMBER exceeded but no error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    22

    MAXLOGMEMBER exceeded but no error

    hi!
    im reading on maxlogmembers which is supposed to be the maximum number of members per redo log group, i have in my control file like this

    Code:
    CREATE CONTROLFILE REUSE DATABASE "XE" RESETLOGS  NOARCHIVELOG
        MAXLOGFILES 16
        MAXLOGMEMBERS 3
        MAXDATAFILES 100
        MAXINSTANCES 8
        MAXLOGHISTORY 292
    LOGFILE
      GROUP 1 'C:\ORACLEXE\APP\ORACLE\FLASH_RECOVERY_AREA\XE\ONLINELOG\O1_MF_1_2BVJPVKD_.LOG'  SIZE 50M,
      GROUP 2 'C:\ORACLEXE\APP\ORACLE\FLASH_RECOVERY_AREA\XE\ONLINELOG\O1_MF_2_2BVJPXM1_.LOG'  SIZE 50M
    -- STANDBY LOGFILE
    DATAFILE
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\SYSTEM.DBF',
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\UNDO.DBF',
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\SYSAUX.DBF',
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\USERS.DBF'
    CHARACTER SET AL32UTF8
    so my maxlogmembers is 3, why is that i was able to create a group with 4 members?

    Code:
    SYS@xe:SQL>select group#, members from v$log
      2  /
    
        GROUP#    MEMBERS
    ---------- ----------
             1          1
             2          1
             3          4
    thank you so much sir/mam =)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    it will just expand the limit in the control file

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    22
    hi! thanks for the reply, but shouldnt it report an error? that i exceeded the number of members? does that mean i can also exceed the number of groups?

    i traced controlfile, and it changed =)

    Code:
    CREATE CONTROLFILE REUSE DATABASE "XE" RESETLOGS  NOARCHIVELOG
        MAXLOGFILES 16
        MAXLOGMEMBERS 5
        MAXDATAFILES 100
        MAXINSTANCES 8
        MAXLOGHISTORY 292
    LOGFILE
      GROUP 1 'C:\ORACLEXE\APP\ORACLE\FLASH_RECOVERY_AREA\XE\ONLINELOG\O1_MF_1_2BVJPVKD_.LOG'  SIZE 50M,
      GROUP 2 'C:\ORACLEXE\APP\ORACLE\FLASH_RECOVERY_AREA\XE\ONLINELOG\O1_MF_2_2BVJPXM1_.LOG'  SIZE 50M
    -- STANDBY LOGFILE
    DATAFILE
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\SYSTEM.DBF',
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\UNDO.DBF',
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\SYSAUX.DBF',
      'C:\ORACLEXE\ORADATA\XE\USERS.DBF'
    CHARACTER SET AL32UTF8
    Last edited by ehegagoka; 08-02-2006 at 04:53 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Also you can see the current value for MAXLOGMEMBERS

    select x$kccdi.dimlm from sys.x$kccdi;
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    its not an error, the same happens with madatafiles as well, if you go past the limit in the controlfile it expands

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    22
    hi!
    thank you so much sir for that =) also what does the document mean in here that it will consume space?


    Using group numbers can make administering redo log groups easier. However, the group number must be between 1 and MAXLOGFILES. Do not skip redo log file group numbers (that is, do not number your groups 10, 20, 30, and so on), or you will consume space in the control files of the database.

    also....(sorry for too many questions)

    if logwriter write on a per group batch (is that right?) why is there a situation where in two groups a marked as CURRENT (does this mean the'yre both being written to?), heres the query =)


    Code:
    SQL> select group#, members,status from v$log;
    
        GROUP#    MEMBERS STATUS
    ---------- ---------- ----------------
             1          2 INACTIVE
             2          2 CURRENT
             3          2 INACTIVE
             4          2 ACTIVE
             5          2 INACTIVE
             6          2 INACTIVE
             7          2 INACTIVE
             8          2 CURRENT
    
    8 rows selected
    i hope i've explained it well thanks =)
    Last edited by ehegagoka; 08-02-2006 at 05:37 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width