oratab on solaris
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: oratab on solaris

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586
    guys,
    where does oratab sit on sun solaris 2.6????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    /var/opt/oracle

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586
    its not there you wont believe it but its not there
    i did a global search and came out empty.


    also can you answer my question???
    i took a backup ufsdump of /d02 to /d05 and i need to restore back to /d02 using ufsrestore. What exact command ddo i use when i am sitting at
    /d02?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Sorry ! I never used ufsrestore. I use Legato Networker. I wonder you couldn't find the oratab in global search too... ALl my servers are Solaris 2.6/2.7...Location of oratab is what I mentioned. May be someone will help you..

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    If you look at your dbstart and dbshut scripts in $ORACLE_HOME/bin they will tell you where the oratab file was located when the product was installed.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    317
    May be you could not find oratab in Global search you don't have SU permissions to your Unix box. Login as SU and try.
    Thanks
    Kishore Kumar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    I don't think that su an issue on to check the existence of oratab file. BTW, did you do the install? what is the oracle version that you are looking at?. One of the things that could have happen was that who ever had installed the oracle on this system, would have not run the root.sh script. You could run that to create the oratab file. Inorder to run this you need to have su or sudoer permission on the system. It is there at
    $ORACLE_HOME/install/utl/root.sh

    Good luck,
    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width