oracle not available
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: oracle not available

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    157

    Angry

    Hi Guys

    I have the test and production databases on the same server

    today morning when i tried to connect to the test database i am getting error like:

    ora-01034 Oracle not availabe
    ora-09243 Error attaching to SGA
    osd-04101 Invalid sga:SGA not initialized

    I am working on oracle 7.3.4 and on WIN NT 4.0

    Could you please give me any solutions for this as soon as possible

    Thanks
    Ravi
    ravi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    417
    Are you sure the database is started up?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    157
    yes.The databse is started.Even i stopped and started the services.

    Thanks
    Ravi
    ravi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    224
    Connect to Server Manager using Internal

    Shutdown immediate;

    startup pfile= driver:/........./.........../xxxxxx.ora

    Check if it gives any error in the startup. If this successful, you should not get the error.

    Good Luck!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    Sharma is right; Seems like your Oracle service is starting but the database is failing to initialize.
    That is the problem with NT Services; it does not tell you when it fails to start the database. Check the Alert Log and it will show you why the database was not started.

    Or if you start from the SvrMgr, it will show you the errors.

    - Rajeev

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    157

    oracle not available

    hi

    even it is not allowing me to connect from the svrmgr.Same error is popping up

    any suggestions please

    Thanks
    Ravi
    ravi

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    317
    Why don't you check the Alertlog. And it seems your environment has changed.
    Thanks
    Kishore Kumar

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Dallas:TX:USA
    Posts
    407
    also make sure you set oracle_sid before attempting to connect from the Server Manager.

    On the DOS prompt --

    SET ORACLE_SID = your_sid_name

    SVRMGR


    If the SID is SET and the related Oracle service (OracleServiceSid_Name) is running then you should be able to connect from Server MAnager.
    I think in Oracle 7.3 (for NT) there are 2 services; can you check that both the services are running.

    And most importantly check the end of the Alert Log file for the appropriate errors.

    - Rajeev

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    157
    hi

    Thanks alot guys.I will try this.

    Ravi
    ravi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width