How can I move RMAN's backup set to another place ???
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: How can I move RMAN's backup set to another place ???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8

    How can I move RMAN's backup set to another place ???

    Oracle8i, RHEL4. RMAN not use catalog.

    I have done backup use RMAN at host_A (path /oracle).

    rman target / nocatalog log rman_full_backup.log < run
    {
    allocate channel ch00 type disk;
    set limit channel ch00 kbytes = 100000;
    backup database format='/oracle/%d_DB_%u.rman';
    sql 'alter system archive log current';
    backup current controlfile format='/oracle/control.rman';
    release channel ch00;
    }
    EOF

    I have copy this files to another host_B to the another path (/oracle2)

    And I want to recover this DB to another place and I do not know how can I indicate to RMAN where it find this file "%d_DB_%u.rman" ????

    run
    {
    allocate channel ch00 type disk ..............;
    .................
    set newname for datafile ........
    ............
    }
    P.S. I am sorry my bad English.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    I have seen this documentation and have not seen there where I can to change path to the RMAN's backup set :((

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    you dont, you use the duplicate command to do it all for you

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Your target database controlfile contains the backup information and that will be used for creating the Aux database. You don't need to copy the RMAN backup sets to the Aux DB server.
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    I understand, thanks ! But I have next situation. I do backup DB every day.And this backup store at the production server (host_A). But now I need startup this DB on the another host_B where a different directory structure. I want recover this DB on the host_B from RMAN's backup set.
    I understand that I can to make link (ln -s ....) or such directory structure or using standart HotBackup but I do not want it. I want recover database on the host_B from old RMAN's backup set which I have copyed to host_B to the another directory

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    727
    Did you read the docs..?

    DB_FILE_NAME_CONVERT=(/oracle/prod/db,/oracle/dup_prod/db) to move the datafile to a different FS Structure.

    And DON"T copy the backups. if you wanna ause old backup set use "SET UNTIL TIME " so rman use the backup accordingly.
    Last edited by Thomasps; 06-14-2006 at 05:57 AM.
    Thomas Saviour(royxavier@yahoo.com)
    Technical Lead (Databases)
    Thomson Reuters (Markets)

    http://ora600tom.wordpress.com/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    http://download-uk.oracle.com/docs/c...cmdupdb004.htm

    Hi

    During restore, RMAN will expect the backup sets to be located in the same directory as written to during the backup.
    For disk backups, the DBA can
    accomplish this in many ways:

    - set up an NFS directory, mounted on both host A and host B
    - create the same directory structure on host A and host B
    - use of symbolic links on host

    You can also explore the backup as backupset option if you dont wnat symbolic links and want to move the backupset to another location and NFS mount that another location

    regards
    Hrishy
    Last edited by hrishy; 06-14-2006 at 06:32 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    to Thomasps. Thanks !
    But DB_FILE_NAME_CONVERT convert name of db_files but not the RMAN's backup files. I backuped to "backup database format='/oracle/%d_DB_%u.rman';"
    Then I copy %d_DB_%u.rman to host_B to the another path !!!! /ORACLE2 and then I want to restore use RMAN but it can not find file "%d_DB_%u.rman" because it is /ORACLE2/%d_DB_%u.rman

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    to hrishy
    Thanks. I know this metod (use NFS ......) but I want recover DB using RMAN's backup files.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width