Oracle 10g client install
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Oracle 10g client install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    337

    Oracle 10g client install

    Hi,

    I am have just installed Oracle 10.2.0 binaries on one of our boxes. During the install i did not see the option to install the client version. Is this shipped separatley, as i have to do a client install as well? I ask this because i recall with 9i it was all bundled into one, and it gave me the choice of installing the client. Any advice will be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,
    Chucks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    the client is only available as a separate for windows. For other os'es - did you choose the advanced installlation option - or the default

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Run the Universal Installer and take the Installed Products option to see what's installed.
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    337
    Hi there,

    I chose the default installation. Is the option available in the advanced features?

    Thanks,
    Nik

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    I think it's a seperate disk...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    337
    Hi there,

    I chose the default installation. Is the option available in the advanced features? If so, where? because i am only getting the options for installing enterprise,standard or custom edition?

    Thanks,
    Nik

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Chucks_k
    Hi there,

    I chose the default installation. Is the option available in the advanced features? If so, where? because i am only getting the options for installing enterprise,standard or custom edition?

    Thanks,
    Nik
    I did the client install for 10.2 on solaris.On the DVDrom media there is a directory called client and you can install client from this directory. You have to install client separately in 10g as the database software is in the database directory.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width