How to connect EM to the DB Instance?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How to connect EM to the DB Instance?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy How to connect EM to the DB Instance?

    I've Oracle DB 10g Rel. 2 installed on Windows 2000 server. The database is up and running i.e. everyone can connect to the DB by using any App tool e.g. SQL*Plus, Forms, or Reports. It means that the listener and the service is running. But the problem is that when I try to start the EM I see some error messages on the webpage.

    It says:
    Enterprise Manager is not able to connect to the database instance. The state of the components are listed below.

    Database Instance (Red arrow pointing downwards)
    Host workflow-dev
    Port 1521
    SID orcl
    Oracle Home C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1

    Agent Connection to Instance (Red arrow pointing downwards)
    Status Unavailable
    Details

    Listener (Green arrow pointing upwards)
    Status Up
    Host workflow-dev
    Port 1521
    Name LISTENER
    Oracle Home C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1
    Location C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1\network\admin

    I've already checked all the services, they are running. And when I execute emctl command I got the following message.

    >emctl status dbconsole
    Oracle Enterprise Manager 10g Database Control Release 10.2.0.1.0
    Copyright (c) 1996, 2005 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.
    http://workflow-dev:1158/em/console/aboutApplication
    Oracle Enterprise Manager 10g is running.

    My question is if every thing is workign fine then what is the problem with the EM? Why it is not connecting to the DB?

    Thanks.

    --Khan.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Lots of notes on metalink for this, but to get you started check the dbsnmp account, is it locked?

    Bazza

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7
    Yes the account DBSNMP is unlocked i.e. open.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Right, now have you looked at metalink and tried the other options for this common issue?!

    Bazza

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7
    Still searching, no luck so far. If by any chance you know the solution then please lemme know as it will save my time.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    I don't know the solution specific to your problem, I'm not psychic as there are many possible causes.

    Have you tried the following notes:
    315299.1
    312308.1
    264067.1
    273758.1
    338398.1
    309687.1

    I found these with a few simple searches, some mention 10.1 but may be applicable anyway to 10.2.

    I will not be in a position to update this thread until tuesday, but I've given you more than enough to go on. If you are still stuck, post in the appropriate forum on OTN.

    Bazza

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    7

    Talking

    Actually I was facing this problem on my testing server on which we've many DBAs. It seems someone changed the passwords of DBSNMP, SYSMAN, and SYS.

    Anyway, I have changed the passwords of all of those users and have secured them. After that I refreshed the DB Console configuration files as follows:
    1. emca -deconfig dbcontrol db (to drop old config files)
    2. emca -config dbcontrol db (to create new config files)

    Now its working fine.

    Thanks a lot for your time and concern.

    --Khan.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    how to connect to EM to the DB instance

    Hello Khan,

    We are using ASM 10gR2 with ASM and DB installed in two seperate directories.

    Today I changed the password for sys, sysman,system, and dbsnmp. Then, I run into the same problem as you which I can not connect to the OEM. I tried to do steps from your suggestion:

    1. emca -deconfig dbcontrol db (to drop old config files)
    2. emca -config dbcontrol db (to create new config files)

    I have questions when I tried to do step 2 (create new config files using "emca -config dbcontrol db"). Step 2 asked for "ASM port". I know that my regular dabase instance listener using 1522. But I am not sure what port I am using for ASM instance.

    Then I did:

    1. export ORACLE_SID=+ASM

    2. cd /app/oracle/product/10.2.0/asm (the directory to ASM_Oracle_Home)

    3. I did "/app/oracle/product/10.2.0/asm/bin/lsnrctl start"

    I see that ASM running on port 1521.

    After that, I see my OEM running normally.

    But I could not login into ASM page from OEM, while I could login into ASM from sqlplus. Do you have any clue?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1

    Same problem here.

    Hi i have exactly the same problem, i have tried reconstructing the console, changing the languaje at the server and many other options.
    My problem seems to be particular. When i startup the console service, my url says server3500b.in.dnpi.gub.uy:1158/em but my console is only accesible through server3500b:1158/em, so i think there is problem with the configuration because i see in the connection string server3500b.in.dnpi.gub.uy, which is the name of the server plus the domain.
    I do not know how to change the connection string used by the console.
    For you having the same problem i would try first:
    emca -config dbcontrol db -repos recreate
    Then you would know it is not a configuration problem.

    If anyone could help would be great.

    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    Hi ,

    Usually the solution is to :

    emca -config dbcontrol db -repos recreate

    Cheers,
    Maria

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width