RMAN errors
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: RMAN errors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    176

    RMAN errors

    Hi all,

    I have the below issues:


    allocated channel: c1
    channel c1: sid=123 devtype=DISK


    Starting backup at 04-MAY-06
    current log archived
    released channel: c1
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure of backup plus archivelog command at 05/04/2006 08:45:14
    RMAN-06059: expected archived log not found, lost of archived log compromises recoverability
    ORA-19625: error identifying file /archivedlogs/HUDEND06/HUDEND06_1_1388_578533800.arc
    ORA-27037: unable to obtain file status
    Linux Error: 2: No such file or directory
    Additional information: 3


    why is the archivelog missing??? I could do CROSSCHECK and run the backup, but I have done CROSSCHECK before and now I am running the backup again with the same issue.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    crosscheck and delete expired / obsolete

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    176
    thanks Davey

    I did have delete obsolete on my scripts when I posted this thread

    Code:
    run {
            CONFIGURE CONTROLFILE AUTOBACKUP FORMAT FOR DEVICE TYPE DISK TO '/u02/backup/FULL/TEST/CF_TEST_%F';
            allocate channel c1 device type disk format '/u02/backup/FULL/TEST/DF_TEST_%U';
            backup as compressed backupset INCREMENTAL level=0 database plus archivelog delete input;
            delete FORCE noprompt obsolete;
        }

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    you have it at the end

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    10
    crosscheck archivelog all;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    176
    that's what I said,

    I have it at the end but I have issue everytime I run RMAN job??? that's what I don't understand.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    the backup cant start because an archivelog is missing. Your crosscheck command is at the bottom so it will never be reached.

    Someone must have deleted an archivelog since you last ran the job

    Not hard to understand

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    KC,MO
    Posts
    3

    Red face deleted archivelog gone

    And, if this is gone 'for good'? how does one get around this error? A full, closed backup has since been done on our end since via RMAN in the hopes it would mark the missing archivelogs (yes multiple) not needed. I am having the same problem obviously.

    How does one get around this? I suppose we could bounce the primary and standby and resetlogs... *shiver*. Any other solutions?

    S Niemann

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    you do a crosscheck and delete obsolete

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    KC,MO
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs up looks like fixed

    I thank you and did not understand what was being said above. Repeating it all by itself helped. The crosscheck completed and my backup is running. Having this in the script (at the front now that I know what it is talking about) is a very helpful thing?

    Thanks for the quick answer to my redundant ignorance
    S Niemann

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width