Changing SID
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Changing SID

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12

    Changing SID

    Hello everyone,

    I use Oracle 10g R2 on Fedora Core 4.
    I was trying to change the SID of my test database.
    What I did was:
    1- Shutting down the Instance

    2- changing ORACLE_SID Environment Variable (I also changed the oracle user's .bash_profile, cause I set all required variables in there)

    3- changing the PFILE's name and content (I use SPFILE, but I've created a PFILE from the SPFILE and I've changed its name and content)

    4- changing the content of tnsnames.ora and listener.ora

    5- creating a new password file with a new name

    then:

    sqlplus "/ as sysdba"
    startup;


    and database started successfully.
    but, when I was trying to startup oracle's listener, I couldn't..

    Here is the error:

    LSNRCTL for Linux: Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production on 12-MAY-2006 13:05:47

    Copyright (c) 1991, 2005, Oracle. All rights reserved.

    Starting /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0/oraHome/bin/tnslsnr: please wait...

    TNSLSNR for Linux: Version 10.2.0.1.0 - Production
    System parameter file is /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0/oraHome/network/admin/listener.ora
    Log messages written to /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0/oraHome/network/log/listener.log
    Error listening on: (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=TestSys)(PORT=1521)))
    TNS-12560: TNS: protocol adapter error
    TNS-00583: Valid node checking: unable to parse configuration parameters

    Listener failed to start. See the error message(s) above...

    here is the listener.ora:

    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = TestSys)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = tDbSID)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /u01/app/oracle/product/10.2.0/oraHome)
    )
    )


    PFILE (inittDbSID.ora):

    tDbSID.__db_cache_size=79691776
    tDbSID.__java_pool_size=4194304
    tDbSID.__large_pool_size=4194304
    tDbSID.__shared_pool_size=75497472
    tDbSID.__streams_pool_size=0
    *.audit_file_dest='/u01/app/oracle/admin/testDb/adump'
    *.background_dump_dest='/u01/app/oracle/admin/testDb/bdump'
    *.compatible='10.2.0.1.0'
    *.control_files='/u01/app/oracle/oraData/testDb/control01.ctl','/u01/app/oracle/oraData/testDb/control02.ctl','/u01/app/oracle/oraData/testDb/control03.ctl'
    *.core_dump_dest='/u01/app/oracle/admin/testDb/cdump'
    *.db_block_size=8192
    *.db_domain='TestSys'
    *.db_file_multiblock_read_count=16
    *.db_name='testDb'
    *.open_cursors=300
    *.pga_aggregate_target=16777216
    *.processes=150
    *.remote_login_passwordfile='EXCLUSIVE'
    *.sga_target=167772160
    *.undo_management='AUTO'
    *.undo_tablespace='UNDOTBS'
    *.user_dump_dest='/u01/app/oracle/admin/testDb/udump'

    and tnsnames.ora:

    TESTDB =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = TestSys)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVER = DEDICATED)
    (SERVICE_NAME = tDbSID)
    )
    )

    The error is talking about an error in parsing the listener file.
    But the file looks alright. I thought maybe something else causing this problem.
    Any Idea, please?

    Thanks in advance
    Amir Gheibi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    thats not the way to change a sid / database name.

    check the docs for the proper way (hint: nid)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    Could you please mention the proper one?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    i already did, use nid

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    Thanks for the answer,

    But in the NID's documentation I just found a way to change DBID and DBNAME, not SID.
    Please correct me if I'm wrong?

    Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    12
    I found my answer. I put it here for record and for those that are quiet confident about thier wrong answer.
    The way that I've gone through is correct and I don't need to use NID. The problem was a syntax error in the sqlnet.ora file. That's it.

    NID is tool to change the DBID and the DBName, not SID.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width