Automate Cold backup refresh
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Automate Cold backup refresh

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141

    Automate Cold backup refresh

    Hi ,
    I have a cold backup copy and want to automate the refresh process to development database using shell script

    1. FTP to development database
    2. Using backup control file...recreating a new controlfile
    3. recover database

    In step 3 recover database?? how to automate this step. I have 6 redo log files with 3 groups.

    During recovery it will ask for different log files?

    How to give the requested log file during recovery in an shell script?

    Pls advice.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Quote Originally Posted by castlerock
    2. Using backup control file...recreating a new controlfile
    why? Don't you have a copy of your control files?

    3. recover database
    what's there to recover? you already shutdown your database and it is consistent.

    In step 3 recover database?? how to automate this step. I have 6 redo log files with 3 groups.
    easy, don't recover.

    During recovery it will ask for different log files?
    why, you already have a consistent backup.

    How to give the requested log file during recovery in an shell script?
    you can always recover with backup controlfile until cancel and then cancel immediately.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141
    Sorry the steps are for the HOT BACKUP wrongly typed as cold backup.

    Many Thanks,
    Last edited by castlerock; 05-09-2006 at 03:58 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    stil dont see the need to re-create control file

    fto backup, ftp all archive logs, restore and recover, open resetlogs

    done

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    I can see it now:

    but i'm in noarchivelog mode
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141
    while refresh with the hot backup copy of prod.... the new database name is different (ef.oradev)

    Step1. FTP the datafiles,redolog files and copy of control files,copy of controlfile trace and arch log files.

    step2. I am trying to creat a new db with the hotbackup copy
    and my new database (oradev) is no archive log mode


    Do I have to re-create the controlfiles??

    can you pls advice me on the next step

    Thanks,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Quote Originally Posted by castlerock
    the new database name is different (ef.oradev)
    That's a different story. Yes, you have to recreate the controlfiles.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141
    After re-creating the control file...

    SQL>


    SQL> @/u01/app/oracle/admin/oradev/udump/oranew.sql
    ORACLE instance started.

    Total System Global Area 1149638088 bytes
    Fixed Size 734664 bytes
    Variable Size 738197504 bytes
    Database Buffers 409600000 bytes
    Redo Buffers 1105920 bytes

    Control file created.

    SQL> alter database open resetlogs;
    alter database open resetlogs
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01195: online backup of file 1 needs more recovery to be consistent
    ORA-01110: data file 1: '/u10/oradata/oradev/system01.dbf'


    SQL> recover database using backup controlfile;
    ORA-00279: change 1653019426 generated at 05/10/2006 00:30:12 needed for thread
    1
    ORA-00289: suggestion : /u01/app/oracle/product/9.2.0/dbs/arch1_13050.dbf
    ORA-00280: change 1653019426 for thread 1 is in sequence #13050

    after this i am giving the archive files and redologfiles...

    Is there a way to automate using shell script ...the steps for archive logs...(ie)based on the requested number and then redolog file


    Thanks,
    Last edited by castlerock; 05-10-2006 at 06:13 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width