Error connecting from windows client to solaris server!
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Error connecting from windows client to solaris server!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650

    Error connecting from windows client to solaris server!

    ERror when connecting to db from windows client, getting tns-01017, when i do from server i can connect.

    ping, tnsping works

    checked the names in tnsnames at local as well at server. Unable to connect.

    Did a reverse connection from solaris server to windows db works well.

    solaris 10 db 9i r2 (9207), client 9i r2.

    ??????????
    "What is past is PROLOGUE"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    and what is tns-01017?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    excuse me its a typo, read ora-01017.
    "What is past is PROLOGUE"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,136
    oerr ora 1017
    01017, 00000, "invalid username/password; logon denied"
    // *Cause:
    // *Action:

    Are you sure you know the user id and password?

    Tamil

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by tamilselvan
    oerr ora 1017
    01017, 00000, "invalid username/password; logon denied"
    // *Cause:
    // *Action:

    Are you sure you know the user id and password?

    Tamil
    yes, i am able to connect locally to the database with the same username/pwd, but not thru' client.

    trying to figure out where is the missing link.

    Checked the listener.log, and found its authenticating my client. client does not have privileges to login to solaris to work on.

    any clues.
    "What is past is PROLOGUE"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    you sure you are actually connecting to the right database

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    DC,USA
    Posts
    650
    Quote Originally Posted by davey23uk
    you sure you are actually connecting to the right database
    yep.

    any place where i can look in to solve this issue, would be appreciated.
    "What is past is PROLOGUE"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    170
    how are you connecting through the client?
    thomasp

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Are you trying to use an os authenticated user?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    It looks like you are trying to connect as user SYS, in this case you have to use password which is in password file.
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width