no pfile neither spfile
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: no pfile neither spfile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221

    no pfile neither spfile

    HI all,

    I just took over this client database and I can't find pfle anywhere on the server, I asked this contractor and he doens't know either.

    how can we create one if the DB still running???

    thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    No spfile? No pfile? How where they planning to restart the thing if the box crashed?

    Run the following to see how it was started last time:

    select decode(count(*), 1, 'spfile', 'pfile' ) as INIT_FILE_TYPE
    from v$spparameter
    where rownum=1
    and isspecified='TRUE';

    You can create a pfile from scratch, the alert log (if you have that!!!) shows all the non default parameters at startup. Copy and paste job. Perhaps someone else has an easier way.

    Bazza

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,997
    Quote Originally Posted by hannah00
    HI all,

    I just took over this client database and I can't find pfle anywhere on the server, I asked this contractor and he doens't know either.

    how can we create one if the DB still running???

    thanks,
    There must be a pfile to tell the database where the control files are and the name of the database. Have you looked in %ORACLE_HOME/database, or in $ORACLE_BASE/admin/yoursid/pfile?

    you can also query the data dictionary. Although I forget which view to look at. It could be v$instance, v$database, or v$parameter. If you are on unix you can look in the oratab file, and if you are on windows you can look in the registry.

    There is either an init file or an spfile somewhere.
    this space intentionally left blank

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    just do show parameter spfile to see if one has been used

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    thank you, I have to create manually from scratch, I did check everywhere and this guys is clueless.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    you can get the non default values from the alert log

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    AZ, USA
    Posts
    131
    sounds like windoze...
    open a command window, from the root of each drive enter:
    dir init*.ora /S

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by gandolf989
    There is either an init file or an spfile somewhere.
    Not necessarily, it could have been deleted and the database will continue to run normally.

    Davey, didn't I already say about using the alert log?!?! ;-)

    Bazza

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by bazza

    Davey, didn't I already say about using the alert log?!?! ;-)

    Bazza
    maybe, implying I even read it huh

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Quote Originally Posted by dbtoo
    sounds like windoze...
    open a command window, from the root of each drive enter:
    dir init*.ora /S
    The problem with this method is that the initialization file could be named anything - it doesn't need to have the suffix ".ora" nor the string "init" in its name. What if the previous DBA was so clever to name it something like 'sqlserver.win'
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width