Executing script for Enterprise Manager
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Executing script for Enterprise Manager

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39

    Executing script for Enterprise Manager

    We are installing 10g on XP Pro. The original install failed, but I was able to delete and re-create the default database, and then logon onto SQL*Plus. However, I'm not able to bring up Enterprise Mgr in my web browser using the web address http://localhost:5500/em. (It just says "page not found".) The original install failed to successfully run the script that creates Enterprise Mgr, so I'm trying to run that script now.

    During the original install of Oracle, I received the following error msg:
    Exterprise Manager Configuration failed
    job_queue_processes must be >= 1
    fix errors
    Run Enterprise Manager Assistant in stand-alone mode.
    You can retry configuring this database with Enterprise Manager later by manually running c:\oracle\product\10.1.0\db_1\bin\emca.

    I'm not sure what it means by stand alone mode, but I went into the c:\oracle\product\10.1.0\db_1\bin directory and logged onto SQL*Plus from there, and tried running the emca.bat script, but received the following errors:

    SP2-0310: unable to open file "echo.sql"
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "OH=C:\orac..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "JRE_JAVA=%..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "EMCA_JAR=%..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "LIB_DIR=%O..."
    SP2-0158: unknown SET option "CLASSPATH="
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0735: unknown SET option beginning "CLASSPATH=..."
    SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "%JRE_JAVA%..." - rest of line ignored.

    This is the emca.bat script:

    @echo off
    set OH=C:\oracle\product\10.1.0\Db_1
    set JRE_JAVA=%OH%\jdk\jre\bin\java
    set EMCA_JAR=%OH%\jlib\emca.jar
    set LIB_DIR=%OH%\jlib
    set CLASSPATH=
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%;%EMCA_JAR%;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\srvm.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\srvmasm.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\emConfigInstall.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\ldapjclnt10.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\ldap.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\share.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\srvmhas.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%LIB_DIR%\oraclepki103.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%OH%\lib\xmlparserv2.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%OH%\oc4j\j2ee\home\oc4j.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%OH%\assistants\jlib\assistantsCommon.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%OH%\sysman\jlib\emCORE.jar;
    set CLASSPATH=%CLASSPATH%%OH%\oui\jlib\OraInstaller.jar;
    %JRE_JAVA% -classpath %CLASSPATH% -DDISPLAY=%DISPLAY% -DORACLE_HOME=%OH% -DTNS_ADMIN=%TNS_ADMIN% oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfigAssistant %*

    I did a search on the echo.sql file and can't find it, but I don't think running that command is necessary. After that line, I'm not sure why I'm getting a number of "unknown set options". It appears that I may need to edit the script and give the "set CLASSPATH" line an option.

    If someone here can help me to get Enterprise Mgr up and running without using any sarcasm, I'd truly appreciate it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,477

    Cool


    run c:\oracle\product\10.1.0\db_1\bin\emca.
    --or--
    run emca.bat script in a WinDOZE COMMAND (Batch) window.

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    sarcasm mode on

    you need to run the script from the command line .bat is a windows thing.

    Dont run things from sqlplus. Where did it tell you to run it from sqlplus

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    You're right. dummy me. I've been out of the field too long- just getting back in. I ran the script from Windows and received the following msg:

    oracle.sysman.emcp.EMConfig checkConfiguration SEVERE: Repository already exists. Fix the error(s) and run EM Configuration Assistant again in standalone mode. could not complete configuration. Refer to the log file for details.


    The only log file that I see in the same directory as the emca.bat file is a sqlnet.log, but there are no error messages from today in it. Which log file is it referring to?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    Does anyone know what it means to run Enterprise Manager Configuration Assistant in stand alone mode? I'm trying to run the script from a command prompt- not sure what stand alone mode is?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,477

    Cool


    Execute: Start>All Programs>{Your Oracle Home}>Configuration and Migration Tools>Enterprise Manager Configuration Assistant

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    39
    This is not in 10g. You can only access Enterprise Mgr from a browser.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    set sarcasm mode=on

    Ok, I'll try helping you again.

    There is a section (see chapter 6.6) in the OEM Advanced Config (10.1.0) docs which you'll find useful entitled "Troubleshooting Repository Creation Errors". I'm feeling particularly generous and providing a link:

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs/pdf/B12013_01.pdf

    Please also take a look at Note:278100.1 on metalink, some warnings there if you're on 10.1.0.2.

    From your second post dropping and recreating the repository would be prima facie the way to go, but read the documents, and if you hit more issues please post again.

    Bazza

    set sarcasm mode=off

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    3
    i'm installing oracle8i in typical but it not shows the OEM in start->program file->oracle->
    it cant show but it tell OEM is present then how can start it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    34
    Actually you can find under this oracle 817 directory.just change your tnsname and environment variable. you can able to connect database through oem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width