10g Startup Mount
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 10g Startup Mount

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pretoria, Rep of South Africa
    Posts
    191

    Unhappy 10g Startup Mount

    OS: WIN2000
    DB:10G 1

    I want to move(copy) my undo datafile to another location.

    As you know I need to do a shutdown,copy to new location, open in mount,alter database .... and backup controlfile to trace.

    The problem is when I mount the database I get this "FRIKKEN LASER BEAM ON A SHARP" error
    ---------------------------------------------------------------
    SQL> STARTUP MOUNT PFILE=C:\Oracle\product\10.2.0\admin\10GTEST\pfile\INIT.ORA.2
    29200611850
    ORACLE instance started.
    ORA-12528: Message 12528 not found; product=RDBMS; facility=ORA

    SQL> CONN SYS/SYS@10GTEST AS SYSDBA
    ERROR:
    ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    "It seems that this is a common error on 10G if you do a shutdown immediate - startup mount." -http://ora-600.ora-code.com/bbs/View?grp=Oracle_List&msg=2b9bf082b76e7d6f539e1826c6e2b0b4

    I really need to startup in MOUNT mode as you cannot take the UNDO offline.

    Is there someting I'm

    missing here. The sys password is sys!!


    Thanks for your assistance in advance
    Able was I ere I saw Elba

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    40
    You don't need to do backup controlfile to trace. You just do:

    1. shutdown immediate
    2. move the file
    3. startup mount
    4. alter database rename file '' to '';
    5. alter database open

    in you statement for startup with pfile it seems you are using some other version of the ini file? what exactly are you doing?
    go to the oracle clinic
    Quick and easy Oracle database support and consulting

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Gourock, Scotland
    Posts
    102
    Can't you simply sqlplus "/ as sysdba"?
    If I have to choose between two evils, I always like to choose the one I haven't tried yet.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pretoria, Rep of South Africa
    Posts
    191
    BACKUP CONTROLFILE TO TRACE is beside the point.
    If I'm in MOUNTED mode -see my error - I loose connection/authentication to Oracle. I want to solve that problem.

    I cannot ALTER DATABASE if i loose connection and cannot connect again.
    A normal STARTUP MOUNT I get the same problem.
    Able was I ere I saw Elba

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pretoria, Rep of South Africa
    Posts
    191
    Ken

    If the database is open then i have no problem. I can conn as sys/sys or / .
    Working from MOUNTED mode I just cant get in???
    Able was I ere I saw Elba

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    40
    Kill the oracle process and start from scratch.

    sqlplus / as sysdba (use this to eliminate any problem you might experience with the password file)
    startup mount
    go to the oracle clinic
    Quick and easy Oracle database support and consulting

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pretoria, Rep of South Africa
    Posts
    191
    I actually killed everything including all developers and hardware managers.

    As this is a test database I have some freedom.

    Thanks 4 your assistance
    Able was I ere I saw Elba

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Gourock, Scotland
    Posts
    102
    "I actually killed everything including all developers and hardware managers."

    Excellent - what method of execution did you use? There are a few developers and managers around here I would like to exterminate too!!
    If I have to choose between two evils, I always like to choose the one I haven't tried yet.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pretoria, Rep of South Africa
    Posts
    191
    HEHE

    The middle finger method!!

    I resolved the problem. My problem was my listener config that was corrupted. I used my old 9i2 listener configuration to duplicate the listener.ora. However,I still do not know the reason why 10G could not configure it correctly using the UI.
    Able was I ere I saw Elba

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width