Import dmp file.
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Import dmp file.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20

    Smile Import dmp file.

    Hi

    i have a existing db (stock) with more than one schemas running on the server, and i got a another copy of a schema as dump file. i want to import the dump file inot that particluar db. ( I don't want any existing data from the current db)

    I did the follwing:

    Shoutdown the db
    Took a backup of existing db
    Removed all the data files except the shell

    Copy the client's database .DMP file to an appropriate directory (d:\oradba\admin\stock\imp\)
    Create a parfile to import the full database call it stock.par:

    USERID=SYSTEM/MANAGER
    LOG=d:\oradba\admin\stock\imp\stock.LOG
    FILE=d:\oradba\admin\stock\imp\stock.DMP
    FULL=N
    FROMUSER=localstock
    TOUSER=localstock
    localstock is the schema name

    In dos window:
    SET ORACLE_SID=stock
    IMP PARFILE=D:\ORADBA\ADMIN\stock\IMP\stock.PAR

    but import failed:

    My question is:
    to import do i need to create a new databse? or how can i import to the existing db by removing all the existing data?

    Please if someone knows help me. Little bit urgent

    Thanks
    Kiru

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    why did it fail

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    My question is:
    to import do i need to create a new databse? or how can i import to the existing db by removing all the existing data?

    The way to import by dropping is to drop user xxxx cascade that will drop all the objects of the user .then recreate the user again grant connect ,resource to the user then do an import.

    hope this helps

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    or dont do the grant connect, resource privs to anyone as they are way too powerful

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,483

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by kiru
    ...
    I did the follwing:

    Shoutdown the db
    Took a backup of existing db
    Removed all the data files except the shell
    Yes, If you removed all the data files, you do need to create a database to be able to import!

    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    20
    Thanks Done it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lake Worth, FL
    Posts
    1,483

    Cool


    Good luck!
    "The person who says it cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it." --Chinese Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width