DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RMAN: How does it suppose to work in Windows???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221

    RMAN: How does it suppose to work in Windows???

    In RMAN, you can backup your SFILE from autobackup. Let's say if the server crashed so you lost everything, you get another server and start restoring the backup the new server. The very first step is you have to create Oracle Service In WIndows , in order to create the service you have to have to pfile, but you lost everything. The point I am tyring to make is in windows it required to have pfile in order to create the ORacle service, but in order to restore the SPfile , you have to put the DB in "mount" so are you are going to mount the DB if you can't even have the Oracle service.

    thanks
    Last edited by hannah00; 02-23-2006 at 11:41 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    367
    As explained in the RMAN users guide, during disaster recovery you can use STARTUP FORCE NOMOUNT to start the instance with a dummy parameter file

    http://download-west.oracle.com/docs...ov.htm#1007667

    Code:
    # Start RMAN and connect to the target database
    % rman TARGET SYS/oracle@trgt
    
    # Set the DBID for the target database
    RMAN> SET DBID 676549873;
    RMAN> STARTUP FORCE NOMOUNT;  # rman starts instance with dummy parameter file
    RUN
    {
      ALLOCATE CHANNEL t1 DEVICE TYPE sbt;
      RESTORE SPFILE FROM AUTOBACKUP;
    }
    # Restart instance with restored server parameter file
    RMAN> STARTUP FORCE NOMOUNT;  
    
    RMAN> RUN
    {
      # Manually allocate a channel to the media manager
      ALLOCATE CHANNEL t1 DEVICE TYPE sbt;
      # Restore autobackup of the control file. This example assumes that you have 
      # accepted the default format for the autobackup name.
      RESTORE CONTROLFILE FROM AUTOBACKUP;
      #  The set until command is used in case the database
      #  structure has changed in the most recent backups, and you wish to
      #  recover to that point-in-time. In this way RMAN restores the database
      #  to the same structure that the database had at the specified time.
      ALTER DATABASE MOUNT;
      SET UNTIL SEQUENCE 1124 THREAD 1;
      RESTORE DATABASE;
      RECOVER DATABASE;
    }
    RMAN> ALTER DATABASE OPEN RESETLOGS; # Reset the online logs after recovery 
    completes

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    I think the doc is applicable for Unix. For windows, if you don't have your Oracle service running, how are you going to connect to recovery CATALOG and startup force??? that's my whole point.

    thanks for sharing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    create a service with the dummy pfile

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    367
    I have to admit to not being too familiar with Oracle on Windows, but pfile isn't a mandatory option for oradim? Can't you just create a service -new -sid -srvc and then startup force nomount? This is a question by the way, and not a statement

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    thanks all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width