8i Standby db
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: 8i Standby db

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    31

    8i Standby db

    hi...
    regarding the Oracle Standby database, is there any pbms if i prepare and reactivate a standby database from an activated standby database more than once?

    regards
    Oracle,Unix Administrator

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    What is pbms?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    31
    hi again...
    the idea is that i have a standby db on another server,i switch my application from production server to the standby one[after db activation].
    let say i work on the standby one for arround 1 or 2 monthes, later on, i copied the activated db to the fst production server, then i re-prepare the snd server to be standby.

    is there any pbm if this scenario could be processed many times.
    regards
    Oracle,Unix Administrator

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    whats a pbm?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Also whats a fst? If you can't be bothered to type, I can't be bothered to help.

    Bazza

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    spot on

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    actd stby's prim, so WT pbm?
    "The power of instruction is seldom of much efficacy except in those happy dispositions where it is almost superfluous" - Gibbon, quoted by R.P.Feynman

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    31
    first thank you all.
    snd, it is not a matter of bother or else....
    there is no pbm,[let me say in another way] the procedure i did, is that after reativation of stby db, i work on it as production, and re-generate from it a new stdby one, doing like servers switching.
    this was my question, just if this procedure may cause a pbms on the database functionality for me on the long term!.

    thank you all.
    Oracle,Unix Administrator

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    and everyone is asking you, what is a 'pbm'

    Why can't you type full words?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hmm :-)

    i think pbm is short for Problem..dude seems to be in hurry.

    Well in 8i if you switch often you need to take backups often i think because everytime you switch and open the database with alter database open resetlogs on standby.

    Can someone validate my claims

    regards
    Hrishy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width