Cant create Database using dbassist
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 44

Thread: Cant create Database using dbassist

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    70
    While running dbassist to create a database I was getting an error:
    ORA-03114:cant connect to ORACLE?????

    So I started lsnrctl and started a listener,
    and I tried running dbassist again,
    and this time I got the error:
    ORA-03113:end-of-file on communication channel.

    Any ideas whats going on? and how can I resolve this?
    How else can I create a database?

    thanks,
    Suleman.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    6
    Are you on Unix or NT?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    71
    What kind of platform are you using? UNIX or WIN NT?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    70
    Unix

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    71
    Ok.
    you have to set correctly the parameter for sheared segments and semaphories in your etc/system.
    They probably are too small or they were not setted.
    Try it.
    It should solve your problem.
    Bye

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    71
    i forgot:
    etc/system for Sun Solaris
    stand/system for HP-UX in etc is not present

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    70
    What should I set them to?

    I made the changes to shmparam.h and the sem.h as instructed in the pre-installation guide.
    And then recompiled the kernel as told.
    Is that different than what youre saying?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Posts
    6
    I think you have some kind of environment problem. Make certain your $ORACLE_HOME
    variable is set correctly, that nothing else is resetting it (duplicate line in .profile,
    a .kshrc file, etc). Make certain that $PATH contains $ORACLE_HOME/bin.
    Do you have $ORACLE_SID set to what the instance name you are creating.

    Can you open another xterm or telnet session and see if the Oracle background
    processes are running?


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    70
    OK,
    I opened up a new Xterm session and did a
    echo $ORACLE_HOME
    and it gives me a blank line.
    but on the term where I run dbassist, it gives me the correct path.
    If I go to the .bash_login file, and the path settings there are correct.

    Ive set ORACLE_SID=DNC
    thats what I plan to call the database ONCE its created.

    Is that the problem?
    Even once Ive set it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    71
    If you had this problem trying to create the database after Oracle installation probably the problem is the settings I told you are not correctly.
    In the instllation guide there is a section related to the pre-installation tasks where you can find what I tried to explain above.
    However if you set those parameters into tthe file system and then rebbot your machine there is no matter to modify you did and to recompile the kernel.
    Remember you must be root to edit the file etc/system

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width