Can't access Portal
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Can't access Portal

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250

    Question

    Hi,
    Can someone help me on the Oracle 9i AS ? I cann't access portal. I having the error message as below after I typed [url]http://hostname/pls/portal30[/url]

    Proxy log On failed.
    Please verify that you have specified correct connectivity information i.e.username, password & connect-string in the Database Access Descriptor
    Error-Code:12640
    Error TimeStamp:Thu, 14 Dec 2000 08:08:08 GMT
    Database Log In Failed
    TNS is unable to connect to destination. Invalid TNS address supplied or destination is not listening. This error can also occur because of underlying network transport problems.
    Verify that the TNS name in the connectstring entry of the DAD for this URL is valid and the database listener is running.

    This error message seems like tnsnames.ora file not consistent. I guess.

    Please help me on this.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    163
    Did you verify that you can connect to that database using SQLPLUS.

    dba

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    is your DAD properly set, also seems like you are using proxy, did you supply proxy login/password to Portal

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    32
    Are you using apache listener?

    Also, what OS, etc?
    Thanks,
    Rara.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250

    Angry

    Hi dba,
    Did you verify that you can connect to that database using SQLPLUS.

    Ya, I can access thru the SQL Plus which come with Ora 9i AS

    Hi pando,
    is your DAD properly set, also seems like you are using proxy, did you supply proxy login/password to Portal

    No, I check the IE setting for proxy setting is none. So, I believe there is no proxy at all.

    Hi rara,
    Are you using apache listener?
    Yes, I check the services is up and running even I can see the apache is successfully connected thru the browser after I supply [url]http://localhost[/url]

    Also, what OS, etc?
    I am using Windows 2000 Server

    For ur your information, I am only http server only ( not standard or enterprise). Besides that, I installed the patch for database (8.1.6.1.1 and 8.1.6.1.4) after installed the database and IAS as I realise the latest portal version need those version before can run, will this cause the problem ?

    Thanks for your feedback.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    configure your DAD in

    [url]http://whwereever.is.you.machine/pls/PORTAL30/admin_/gateway.htm[/url]

    and check for connect string of your DAD.
    DAD = Data Access Descriptor

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    Hi,
    Currently my server can access to portal due to the oracle database sqlnet.ora file - remarked off the SQLNET.AUTHENTICATION_SERVICES = (NTS). By the way, what is this statement for ?

    Know I having the problem with client connecting to the portal. One question is why my server can access to portal but why client not ? Any setting to be done ? My client can browse the Gateway Configuration Menu.

    Please help me on this....

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    250
    I had to manually key in the IP address and hostname.domailname in the hosts file - I think this is due to the DNS not register. So, temporary create the hosts file in the windows directory.

    Thanks for the helps.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    9

    Connecting to portal

    Hello,

    We have experienced the same problem when we installed IAS9. It seems that when the machine where you have installed IAS9 has multiple IP adresses and hostnames, the standard installation procedure fails. The Apache webserver listens on a different IP adress than the JServer.
    Default the JServer listens on localhost and the Apache webserver will listen on a different IP adress. Both should be configured to listen on the same IP adress.

    Adapt Jserv.conf
    ApJServDefaultHost yourmachinename

    Adapt httpd.conf
    BindAddress yourmachinename

    Both values should hold the same value.

    Hopefully this will help you.

    Kind regards,

    SLAM.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width