Physical Standby on RAC to non-RAC standby
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Physical Standby on RAC to non-RAC standby

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7

    Physical Standby on RAC to non-RAC standby

    I was wondering if anyone has ever configure this setup or you thoughts on the opossibility.


    standby_type: physical

    primary database : RAC/with two nodes (instance1/instance2)

    standby database non-RAC with standalone database instance1

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    yes, i do it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Oracle 10g RAC to non-RAC Standby database Config

    Hi,

    Its great that you have done the configuration setting up a non-RAC standby database for a 2-node RAC. It is very interesting as Oracle has no documentation on this specific configuration. They always give the configuration with Data Guard, which comes only with the COSTLY enterprise edition.

    Can you kindly give us the outline of the activities in you have carried out to achieve the above configuration without using the Data Guard.

    Thanks a lot in advance

    Regards

    Ravi

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    umm, it does use dataguard, that was the while point of the question - a standby database is dataguard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2

    Rac 2 non-RAC standby Config

    humm...what a pity. As the word data guard was not found on the discussion, i thought that you have achieved it without using the data guard.

    any way thanks for the fast reply.

    Ravi

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    well dataguard is enhanced standby, equals standby by enhanced log shipping so there is not really much different in this context

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    I am not sure i am understanding your question

    But according to me what you are asking is not possible

    Code:
    primary database : RAC/with two nodes (instance1/instance2)
    
    standby database non-RAC with standalone database instance1
    As Standby or dataguard needs the archived redologs from both instance1 as well as instance2 to become a standby

    so what you are asking should really be

    Code:
    primary database : RAC/with two nodes (instance1/instance2)
    
    standby database non-RAC with standalone 
    database instance1 and instance2
    And if above is what your looking for then Oracle's recommended HA strategy is Maximum Availability Architectutre which uses RAC and a dataguard.

    I am sorry if i have messed this thread up

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    hrishy it is possible rac with a single instance standby/dataguard

    http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B...htm#sthref2196

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width