how to rename 9i database in windows 2000
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how to rename 9i database in windows 2000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141

    how to rename 9i database in windows 2000

    Hi All,
    I am trying to rename an oracle database on windows 2000. I am having some issues...can anyone help me how to fix it.

    Trace file is created from existing database (ORCLDB) using alter database backup controlfile to trace

    and the following steps are followed....

    Modify (and optionally rename) the created trace file:
    Find the line reading # Set #2. RESETLOGS case
    Remove all lines above this line.
    Change the line containing the database name from CREATE CONTROLFILE REUSE DATABASE "ORA9" RESETLOGS NOARCHIVELOG
    to
    CREATE CONTROLFILE SET DATABASE "CAT" RESETLOGS NOARCHIVELOG
    Note, in my case, the database is running in noarchive log mode. The corresponding line reads ARCHIVELOG otherwise.
    Remove the line reading RECOVER DATABASE USING BACKUP CONTROLFILE.
    Remove lines starting with #.

    the edited .trc file is saved as rename.sql

    STARTUP NOMOUNT
    CREATE CONTROLFILE SET DATABASE "NEWORCLDB" RESETLOGS NOARCHIVELOG
    -- SET STANDBY TO MAXIMIZE PERFORMANCE
    MAXLOGFILES 16
    MAXLOGMEMBERS 2
    MAXDATAFILES 30
    MAXINSTANCES 1
    MAXLOGHISTORY 454
    LOGFILE
    GROUP 1 'd:\oracle\databases\redo1.ora' SIZE 100M,
    GROUP 2 'd:\oracle\databases\redo2.ora' SIZE 100M,
    GROUP 3 'd:\oracle\databases\redo3.ora' SIZE 100M
    -- STANDBY LOGFILE
    DATAFILE
    'd:\oracle\datafile\system.dbf',
    'd:\oracle\datafile\undo.dbf',
    'd:\oracle\datafile\data.dbf'
    CHARACTER SET WE8ISO8859P1
    ;
    ALTER DATABASE OPEN RESETLOGS;
    ALTER TABLESPACE TEMP ADD TEMPFILE 'd:\oracle\Ora90\databases\temp.dbf'
    SIZE 104857600 REUSE AUTOEXTEND OFF;

    shutdown the ORCLDB databas from windows services

    Moved the old control file to other location


    The database name are changed in the new initneworcldb.ora

    Bcaz there is no SVRMGRL in 9i....How do i connect ??

    I tried sqlplus "/ as sysdba"

    Its asking for username and password...Which username/password and instance name should i give??

    How to proceed...pls advice.

    Many Thanks,
    Last edited by castlerock; 12-09-2005 at 04:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Refer metalink note :224266.1
    Subject: How to Change the DBID and the DBNAME by using NID


    Did you recreate your password file?

    Sam
    Last edited by sambavan; 12-09-2005 at 04:39 PM.
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141
    i have created a new service .....

    C:\>oradim -new -sid neworcldb -intpwd password -startmode auto -pfile
    Last edited by castlerock; 12-09-2005 at 04:44 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    what ever the password you entered after -intpwd , use that as your password.

    Thanx,
    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Hmmm, WINDoooooooooooo..Z

    my_computer -> rightclick -> manage -> Local Users and Group -> Groups

    There if you add the OS user under ORA_DBA group then you can get around from having to issue the password.

    Thanx,
    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141
    My OS user already exist in the ORA_DBA group

    when i try sqlplus /nolog

    C:\>ORADIM -NEW -SID newdb -SRVC OracleServicenewdb -STARTMODE a

    C:\>set ORACLE_SID=NEWDB

    C:\>SQLPLUS /NOLOG

    SQL*Plus: Release 9.0.1.0.1 - Production on Fri Dec 9 20:28:18 2005

    (c) Copyright 2001 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    SQL> @C:\CR_CONTROL.SQL
    ORA-01031: insufficient privileges
    SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "STANDBY LO..." - rest of line ignored.
    SP2-0640: Not connected
    SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "Recovery i..." - rest of line ignored.
    SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "or if the ..." - rest of line ignored.
    SP2-0640: Not connected
    Media recovery complete.
    SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "All logs n..." - rest of line ignored.
    SP2-0640: Not connected
    SP2-0734: unknown command beginning "Database c..." - rest of line ignored.
    SP2-0640: Not connected
    SQL>
    Last edited by castlerock; 12-09-2005 at 09:30 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    use NID to change db name

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    141
    How to invoke nid on windows. Does it get installed as a part of 9.0.1 database installation.

    If i type ...

    c:\> nid
    ..... i dont see anything.

    How to invoke???

    Many Thanks,
    Last edited by castlerock; 12-12-2005 at 10:52 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width