RAC on AIX5L
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: RAC on AIX5L

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681

    RAC on AIX5L

    Hi friends,

    We have new 2-node aix 5L IBM P520. And we want to install Oracle
    10g RAC. Is there a way to install RAC without using raw device?
    Its really hard to manage raw devices?

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    no it isnt, yu just dont know how.

    But you need a clustered filesystem

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    thanks davey...ur so nice helping other people...well everyone here is good.

    So u mean i cant install RAC w/o raw device. Yes we have it clustered.

    My problem really is ....
    We have an older set of server AIX 4.3.3 on IBM rs600, also clustered
    and with Oracle 8.1.7 OPS and our current production apps are running
    on it now. This was configured by an 3rd party ORACLE consultant. The
    configuration was so complexed its making me crazy. Then our company
    wants to migrate it to 10g rac on the new IBM P5 AIX 5L.
    How do i attack this work pls.
    Can u give me links of procedures how to migrate OPS to RAC ...and
    from AIX 4.3.3 TO AIX 5L ... and from 8.1.7 DB to 10g?

    Thanks a lot in advance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    Get a clustered filesystem, I'm sure they exist for AIX.

    Also I dont think migrating from OPS to RAC is a particularly good idea.

    Build a new RAC system and migrate data across

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Thanks again davey

    How do I migrate an 8.1.7 db running on AIX 4.3.3
    to 8.1.7 db running on AIX5L? (supposing its an ordinary setup
    no OPS or RAC)

    Do i just copy all the controlfiles, logfiles, datafiles from
    AIX 4.3.3 server to AIX 5L server , and startup the database?
    Since they have the save Oracle version? but not OS version.

    Thanks a lot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA,USA
    Posts
    155
    Okay... On AIX you can get clustered filesystem using either IBM HACMP or Veritas HA. Both are very expensive. As an alternative in Oracle 10g you can use Oracle CRS and ASM combination. ASM uses RAW devices but presents them as filesystem for Oracle database (only). Starting from 10g2 you have asmtool to browse this filesystem.

    Your data migration strategy will depend on how much down time you can afford. It can be CTAS across a database link, replication, transportable tablespace, RMAN, export/import, or OS cp command.

    If you do a little of RTFM on tahiti.oracle.com you will be able to find a detailed migration plan in Oracle Database Upgrade Guide book.

    Good luck.

    Sergey

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    thanks pss

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width