HOW to get IP number for ORacle database server
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: HOW to get IP number for ORacle database server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    HOW to get IP number for ORacle database server

    I am still new with Oracle database.I want to connect client PC to the Oracle database server and retrive the table from Oracle database server and see the table from my client PC using GIS software name ARCVIEW.Did you all familiar with gis software?I have two question.Hostname refer for what?hostname of my pc or hostname for oracle database server?Where i can get the IP name of database server?I want to help my DBA because he forgot the ip number of server. I hope some one can help me

    THANKS.
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    then your DBA sucks ass completely.

    Windows: ipconfig
    Unix: ifconfig
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    63

    confused

    not really sure how you can forget the ip address of the server, you could also try to look in a client TNS file it may have the ip in there
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,587
    Also do ping machinename

    I'm curious, What is the DBA's salary there? They ought to be proud to have such a bright DBA there.
    Tarry Singh
    I'm a JOLE(JavaOracleLinuxEnthusiast)
    TarryBlogging
    --- Everything was meant to be---
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    An oracle database server doesn't have an IP number, an ethernet interface does. I have 4 ethernet interfaces in my machines, which one do you want?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    London
    Posts
    170
    You need to have oracle client installed along with the tnsnames.ora file on your pc. This file should contain an entry of the database you are trying to connect to.
    To find the ip address of the server, just do the following on the command line:
    c:\ping server_name

    the hostname you're asking will be the server name which hosts the database that you are trying to connect to.
    thomasp
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mooresville, NC
    Posts
    349

    Arrow

    Dude, do u have tnsentry for the desired Database server. If so then do a tnsping .
    It mighthave the ip address. If it has the host name then do a
    ping it'll give u ip address.

    BTW what the hell is you dumbass DBA doing
    http://www.perf-engg.com
    A performance engineering forum
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3
    Contact your network or unix team to ask them. Another way he can look it up is by looking at the listener.ora file.

    You folks need a real DBA !!!
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Quote Originally Posted by dbachief
    Another way he can look it up is by looking at the listener.ora file.
    Possibly, but no guarantee there either. Are you saying that's a sure fire way, or another possible way?

    Code:
    # listener.ora Network Configuration File: C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1\network\admin\listener.ora
    # Generated by Oracle configuration tools.
    
    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
      (SID_LIST =
        (SID_DESC =
          (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
          (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1)
          (PROGRAM = extproc)
        )
        (SID_DESC =
          (SID_NAME = ORCL)
          (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\product\10.2.0\db_1)
        )
      )
    
    LISTENER =
      (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
        (DESCRIPTION =
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC1))
          (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = localhost)(PORT = 1521))
        )
      )
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3
    One possible solution.. Nothing can be sure fire in cases where a dba says he has forgotten the IP address
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width