DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: programatically cloning a database via shellscript

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586

    programatically cloning a database via shellscript

    Hey folks:

    I know this question has been asked over and over again and I searched the knowlegebase & metalink prior to posting but I have to ask this question. Rman and standby is not an option for me

    On a regular basis I do full db refreshes of 300gb for siebel group from PristineDB to db1, db2, db3, db4, db5, where I copy the pristinedb files to differnt mountpoint and rename them to db1 or db2 or db3 or db4..

    What I have been asked to do is to automate this process.. has anyone done this in schell scriptint environment?

    thanks
    Jigar
    "High Salaries = Happiness = Project Success."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    did that around 4 years ago

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Quote Originally Posted by jlakhani
    What I have been asked to do is to automate this process.. has anyone done this in schell scriptint environment?
    Sure, lots of times.
    Jeff Hunter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586
    Can you folks give me the shell script so I can customize it for my usage?

    thanks
    "High Salaries = Happiness = Project Success."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    You can write shell scripts, otherwise you will never know "what a shell script is".
    The logic is simple:

    Code:
    Loop
       mo more tablespace then exit
       put one tablespace in begin backup mode.
       ftp the data files for the tablespace on to a different server
       put the tablespace in end backup mode.
    End loop
    ftp the archive log files to other server
    Go to other server
    Recover the database. 
    exit
    Tamil

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586
    Tamilselvan:

    I am not worried about the logic nor am I worried about how to achieve writing this script.. the Shellscript has refresh any of the 7 databases sitting on the server from a pristine copy automatically. The shellscript needs to accept the name of the instance which needs to be refreshed...

    i am trying to figure out how to tell the shellscript which mountpoints belong to which instances...so i was hoping I didnt have to re-invent the wheel.
    "High Salaries = Happiness = Project Success."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width