Changing database port number
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Changing database port number

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    138

    Changing database port number

    Is it possible to change the port number for a 10G database once it was created? If so, how? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    the database doesnt have a port.

    Things like the listener, dbconsole, grid control, xdb do

    so which one do you want to change?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    138
    When I ran dbca to create the database, it created the database with default port 1521. I know I can change the port number in listener.ora, for the listener. Where in the database can I see this port number? Is there a v$ view or something? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    no you have things wrong - 1521 is the listener port, the database doesnt have one

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    138
    OK. How do I change the listener port? In 10G I see a OEM 10G web page called Database Control. On that page, in the two sections called Database Instance & Listener, I see the port listed as 1521.

    I did create a new entry in the listener.ora file with port as 6498. but why do I see 1521? Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    all you do is change istener.ora, then styop and start the listener (lsnrctl stop, lsnrctl start)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width