The exp/imp utility has a bug?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: The exp/imp utility has a bug?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8

    Question The exp/imp utility has a bug?

    I tried the exp/imp utility to migrate the database from Windows XP SP2 to Redhat Linux FC4. I used the full mode. The export command I used is:
    exp system/password full=y file=db.dmp grants=y rows=y consistent=y recordlength=65535
    Then I transfer the file to the other OS and:
    imp system/password full=y file=db.dmp grants=y rows=y recordlength=65535
    Then I checked the data, I found the data is wrong, is this a bug of the utility or just my fault?

    btw: The Oracle on both OS is 9.2.0.1.0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    How did you get the file from Windoze to Linux? FTP?
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8
    Ftp

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    define data is wrong, provide a clear example

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8
    For example in the original table there are two records :
    154 2698 Japan
    177 2337 USA
    but in the table under Linux the records are
    154 2698 USA
    177 2337 Japan
    There are some columns which are disordered!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    That's really strange. Did you use direct path import?
    "I do not fear computers. I fear the lack of them." Isaac Asimov
    Oracle Scirpts DBA's need

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    there is no such thing called direct import!

    also the order does not matter, when we say the data are different we mean the column values are not the same

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8
    I didn't use direct path. The file exported is about 4G, does it matter?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    India
    Posts
    42
    With Oracle, you never know which block the data goes to. Even when you insert data into tables, Oracle may place any row in any block. If you need to order data, then you need to use the ORDER BY clause. Otherwise your import looks fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    8
    It's not about order. It's some columns of one record are placed in other record.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width