Parallel query
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Parallel query

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    376

    Parallel query

    Hi,
    Is there any setting to be done to enable parallel query, apart from using the hint ??
    I am using Oracle 9.2
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The most enjoyable things in the world are either Immoral or too Expensive or otherwise Inaccessible anyway

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    you dont need hints if your tables/indexes are configured with parallel degrees

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    376
    Ok.
    But is there any hardware requirement like dual cpu's, multiple disks etc. Or are there any init.ora parameters to be configured ?
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The most enjoyable things in the world are either Immoral or too Expensive or otherwise Inaccessible anyway

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    set parallel_max_server > 0

    no hardware related

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    278
    I think for parallel processing we need to have more than one cpu; is it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Obviously you dont need more than one CPU to run parallel query

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    278
    Then how can it parallize, will it internally multiple slaves?, if it use multiple slaves then it can only do IO parallely but it will not run the applications in parallel.right?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    What makes you think modern CPUs can run a process only.... :-?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    278
    I doesnot mean to say what u interpreated as,

    i mean at one time the CPU can run only one job;

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Quote Originally Posted by tabreaz
    I doesnot mean to say what u interpreated as,

    i mean at one time the CPU can run only one job;
    Is that true...?

    Right now I am burning a DVD, listening to mp3, running 2 ftp sessions, browsing with Firefox with a single CPU PC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width