RMAN backup instance on another server
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RMAN backup instance on another server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221

    RMAN backup instance on another server

    Hi all,

    I am on windows and Oracle 9.2.0.6.

    I am testing RMAN backup to backup database onto different server and I had issue with permission. Any way, below is what I did:

    Al little about the whole environment setup: I have catalog database running on my desktop and I have SERVER1 which is the server I am going to store the backup of SERVER2 database:




    RMAN> configure channel device type disk format '\\SERVER1\d$\%d_DB_%u_%s_%p';

    old RMAN configuration parameters:
    CONFIGURE CHANNEL DEVICE TYPE DISK FORMAT '\\SERVER1\j\%d_DB_%u_%s_%p';
    new RMAN configuration parameters:
    CONFIGURE CHANNEL DEVICE TYPE DISK FORMAT '\\SERVER1\d$\%d_DB_%u_%s_%p';
    new RMAN configuration parameters are successfully stored
    starting full resync of recovery catalog
    full resync complete
    released channel: ORA_DISK_1

    RMAN> run {
    2> backup database plus archivelog;
    3> delete noprompt obsolete;
    4> }


    Starting backup at 25-AUG-05
    current log archived
    allocated channel: ORA_DISK_1
    channel ORA_DISK_1: sid=10 devtype=DISK
    channel ORA_DISK_1: starting archive log backupset
    channel ORA_DISK_1: specifying archive log(s) in backup set
    input archive log thread=1 sequence=22278 recid=43 stamp=567255098
    input archive log thread=1 sequence=22279 recid=44 stamp=567255555
    channel ORA_DISK_1: starting piece 1 at 25-AUG-05
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03002: failure of backup command at 08/25/2005 10:59:19
    ORA-19504: failed to create file "\\SERVER1\d$\DB1_DB_0jgsv8g5_19_1"
    ORA-27040: skgfrcre: create error, unable to create file
    OSD-04002: unable to open file
    O/S-Error: (OS 5) Access is denied.

    I was able to copy/write any files on the SERVER1 even I have asked the SYSADMIN to log in as his logiD and it still had the same issues. If I changed RMAN to backup on the same server as the SERVER2 and it's working just fine; however, I really want to store the SERVER2 backup on SERVER1.

    Any thoughts????

    RMAN>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Sounds like a permission issue. I know there are issues with mounting remote server drives in Windonts, but since I don't do Windonts I don't know what they are. I know this has been discussed before in this forum, maye Search would help...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    thanks Jeff

    the error is the peromission issue but I don't understand that I was able write the file manually and even the SYS admin log in and I still have problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    I found this on Metalink note#292726.1, below is the part of this note:

    Backup to Remote DISK:
    ------------------------------------------------
    This cannot be done directly by specifying the remote location as part of FORMAT.
    Rman backups to DISK can only be taken to some 'part' of the target database server.
    This means you can only backup to the DRIVEs on the target server.
    This DRIVE could either be a local drive of the server or a network shared drive mapped onto a drive on the target server.

    So, The only way to achive this would be to share the remote location and mount it onto some drive on the target server. And provide location to this drive in FORMAT clause during backup.



    I am not sure what I am trying to do would work. but I would very surprised if Oracle doesn't allow this options.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    noone in here ever tried something like this???

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Quote Originally Posted by hannah00
    noone in here ever tried something like this???
    You answered your own question:

    This DRIVE could either be a local drive of the server or a network shared drive mapped onto a drive on the target server.

    So, The only way to achive this would be to share the remote location and mount it onto some drive on the target server. And provide location to this drive in FORMAT clause during backup.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width