php to mssql=>> oracle
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: php to mssql=>> oracle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681

    php to mssql=>> oracle

    Hi,

    I heard aobut PHP being used to migrate data from MSSQL DB to
    ORACLE DB. Does anybody here tried it yet. Can i used ODBC connect to both database via php?

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,684
    Hi.

    I've not tried it, but I can't really see the point of this method when there are several more direct routes.

    1) Migration workbench.
    2) Transparent gateway to pull the data through.
    3) Generic connectivity: http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/...ectivity9i.php
    4) The DTS services in SQL Server.

    I can't see the point in writing a program in any language then these tools are already available.

    You did mean SQL Server (mssql) not mySQL didn't you?

    Cheers

    Tim...
    Tim...
    OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
    OCA PL/SQL Developer
    Oracle ACE Director
    My website: www.oracle-base.com
    My blog: www.oracle-base.com/blog

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Thanks Tim,

    I havent tried these options yet coz i still dont know how to set them up.
    Of the 4 choices, which one is the easiest and dont need new license cost?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Hi,

    I like #3 but my oracle server and MS sql server are on separate
    servers and its requirement is both on local?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,684
    I don't believe so. The method in my example uses a datasource which can point to a remote machine.

    The DTS stuff is a standard option in SQL Server, I think, that allows you to transfer data to any ODBC compliant database. The datatypes sometimes end up a bit funky, but it works.

    Cheers

    Tim...
    Tim...
    OCP DBA 7.3, 8, 8i, 9i, 10g, 11g
    OCA PL/SQL Developer
    Oracle ACE Director
    My website: www.oracle-base.com
    My blog: www.oracle-base.com/blog

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boracay
    Posts
    681
    Thanks again,

    What services should i check for windows or unix to ensure that the HS is
    running good. Does the 10g client supports this feature too (if i only install it)?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width