Rman 06089
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Rman 06089

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391

    Rman 06089

    Hi.

    We are not using RMAN for any backup/recovery purposes. However, now we are using veritas SAN backup at the moment for trial. Below is part of the script used by veritas for the backup.


    d:\oracle\ora81\bin\rman.exe
    connection info: taret 'sys/****' nocatalog


    This is the error that i got.

    rman-06089 archived log d:\oracle\oradata\464.arc not found or out of sync with catalog

    This database has been running for months so naturally 464.arc is no longer existing. However, the script from veritas stated nocatalog, and i am puzzled by the missing log archive. Does veritas read this from the control file?


    I searched the net and found the below
    http://www.cryer.co.uk/brian/oracle/RMAN06089.htm

    I wanted to go for "reset database" in rman but has absolutely no confidence in rman, therefore i hesitated. Lastly, i am not familar with the second option abt resetting the logs.

    Advise, anyone?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    if you are not using RMAN why your script is calling RMAN?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    well, its not mine.. its another vendor. I have told them that my database doesnt use RMAN for any purposes. But apparently, this veritas netbackup script for oracle (off the shelf) uses rman. And i guess that they have no clue how to overcome this.

    So i took the effort to ask Mr goggle and got the link in the previous thread. Will that help me if these vendors still have no clue?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    353
    You can change the status of the archive log as unavailable in the catalog.

    Regards

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    he doesnt have a catalog, he doesnt have rman 'setup' (whatever that means)

    Suggest he reads the documentation for rman and veritas SAN backup

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    yup. i dont use rman for backup. As written earlier, the veritas called rman through the hot backup script and therefore, i got this error message. i have 2 solutions

    1) change the veritas backup script so that rman is not called.

    2) do the below
    Connect internal
    Shutdown
    Startup mount
    Recover database until cancel using backup controlfile;
    Cancel
    Alter database open resetlogs;

    But i am afraid that option (2) will lose data. Will i really lose so?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    Why would you want to do that - is it broken?

    I assume you are trying to do ao hot backup with the veritas script. If you are, rman or alter tablespace begin backup is the only way it can be done

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    146
    hi,

    Try this...

    rman> crosscheck backup;
    rman> delete obsolete;
    rman> delete expired;

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    Originally posted by rommel
    hi,

    Try this...

    rman> crosscheck backup;
    rman> delete obsolete;
    rman> delete expired;
    hi.. thanks for the above. I have absoultely no idea of rman. And as per mentioned that our oracle doesnt use rman for any backup purposes at all. Why rman now is because the veritas script calls rman on my oracle and this in turn asks for all these ancient redo log files.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    146
    its so easy to use rman,

    just type on command line:

    $ rman target /

    rman> crosscheck backup;
    rman> delete obsolete;
    rman> delete expired;


    thats how simple is it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width