choice perfomance for DB servers
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 50

Thread: choice perfomance for DB servers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639

    choice perfomance for DB servers

    Hi Friends,

    If you have a budget of US$200K, and the management ask you to
    cite/propose a good performing database server for a new application,
    what would be your choice of preference?

    Thanks a lot
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi Kris

    How about Mysql ;-)

    Hoenstly very difficult until you test your application against these different databases .

    Based on your budget rule out high cost dbmses and then test your applications against the dbms thats within your budget.The one which is within your budget and matches your performance requirement is the winner.

    Look for db2 sybase sql server mysql etc which are cheaper then oracle..


    regards
    Hrishy
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639
    No my friend, what i mean is the hardware we have already
    bought Oracle license for 100 users. I want a good computer
    +OS for our database server.

    We have a budget of 200K USD, so what can we buy with it.

    Thanks
    Last edited by kris123; 05-24-2005 at 04:48 AM.
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    and they asked you? wow

    how much work is your application goign to do, hoiw many concurrent users.

    what type of application, how much storage

    basic questions only you know the answer to
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Originally posted by davey23uk
    and they asked you? wow
    no man, they are asking us, i.e an internet forum
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    oh in that case I say go get a cheap pc from your local market and spend the rest on yourself
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995

    Re: choice perfomance for DB servers

    Originally posted by kris123
    Hi Friends,

    If you have a budget of US$200K, and the management ask you to
    cite/propose a good performing database server for a new application,
    what would be your choice of preference?

    Thanks a lot
    Is this the same company which was going to pay you to upgrade to 9.2.0.5. The you were going to turn around and charge them again to upgrade to 9.2.0.6?
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639
    Originally posted by davey23uk
    and they asked you? wow

    how much work is your application goign to do, hoiw many concurrent users.

    what type of application, how much storage

    basic questions only you know the answer to


    It doesnt really concerned with storage, type of apps, concurrent
    usrs, how much work to do You can assume any parameters
    for the above. like bench marking (equal footing).
    Its primarily concerned with the computing power of the hardware.
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    How are you going to know what hardware you are going to buy if you dont know how many users, how much work is going on, how much storage you need how much redundancy you want.

    Ill make it easy for you, find a machine which costs 200K and buy it as you have no idea what your actual requirements are anyway

    I truely fear for your company / client
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639

    Re: Re: choice perfomance for DB servers

    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    Is this the same company which was going to pay you to upgrade to 9.2.0.5. The you were going to turn around and charge them again to upgrade to 9.2.0.6?
    Nahh...I was not able to upgrade it :( I was confused with their
    set-up. When I log-in to the server They got 3 oracle home for
    3 database . The dont have "oracle" user but orabea, orasap, oraprod.
    And its funny coz when i tried to shutdown each intance, it says
    im connected to an idle instance. while the 3 are all up. and when
    I started and instnce, it says that there is a invalid init.ora
    parameter read. Maybe they are starting their database wilth
    the hardcode pfile=blah blah option.
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width