Sync Test DB & Prod DB
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sync Test DB & Prod DB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    372

    Sync Test DB & Prod DB

    Hey Gang,
    What's the way and easy way to refresh or synchronize a large production database and Test database.
    Export/import will take a long time. Any suggestion?
    Thanks
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Yuck. I'd just restore it from backup or clone in place.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    372
    hey jeff
    good to get you online. It has been a long time. Any way could you send me the steps in cloning it in place?
    Thanks
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    PHP Code:
    on local host:
       switch 
    logfile;
       For 
    each tablespace
          put tablespace in backup mode
    ;
          
    rcp files to remote host;
          
    end backup mode;
       
    End;

       switch 
    logfile;
       
    rcp archived redo logs to remote host;

    on remote host:
       
    recreate controlfile
       recover database until cancel using backup controlfile

    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Here's something you might be interested in... I hear this is really good stuff for cloning.

    May 6, 2005 - Babboo Software announced that it has launched the first ever FREE version of its award winning technology XClone. Although the free version has certain advanced features disabled, the core features are enabled and free to use and distribute to others. In addition, Babboo has gone one step further and is offering free e-mail support.

    babboo.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    372
    Jeff
    Thanks as always.
    Arsene Lupain
    The lie takes the elevator, the truth takes the staircase but ends up catching up with the lie.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    2

    Try rman

    Hi,

    if you are alrweady using rman to backup your database, it get down to this:

    On prod:
    rman target / auxiliary sys@test
    duplicate target database;


    Have a look at the rman-docs. Quite helpful and duplicate runs also fine when using netbackup..

    HTH

    Oliver

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width