Questions on renaming datafiles
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Questions on renaming datafiles

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2

    Question Questions on renaming datafiles

    Is it possible to rename one of three datafiles without making the tablespace offline?
    I have a tablespace which has three datafiles and I want to rename one of the datafiles without making the tablespace offline. I know that the datafile which is going to be renamed must be offline but can it be done without making the tablespace offline and not affecting Read/Write access on the tablespace?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Bangalore ( India )
    Posts
    2,434
    RTM
    funky...

    "I Dont Want To Follow A Path, I would Rather Go Where There Is No Path And Leave A Trail."

    "Ego is the worst thing many have, try to overcome it & you will be the best, if not good, person on this earth"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    no
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639
    Hunie, try opening a MS Word file, then on the other window rename the
    file, u cant do it becoz there is locking going on its the
    same theory.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    thatīs windows but not unix or linux

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    You can do it in linux/unix, but you'll end up with a really T-OOO'd database (not to mention a recovery operation).

    Ken

    N: Grandma just called and said you're supposed to go home.
    R: She didn't tell me anything.
    N: Too bad, she said she doesn't want you here when she gets back because you've been ruining everybody's lives and eating all our steak.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by KenEwald
    You can do it in linux/unix, but you'll end up with a really T-OOO'd database (not to mention a recovery operation).
    I was thinking about this a little more. Sure, why not? You could offline the datafile, copy it at the OS, rename it in Oracle, and online it. I would make sure I was in archivelog mode and I'd probably do this with my tablespace in backup mode and it would be a very quiet time when I did it. However, I think it might work...
    Last edited by marist89; 05-09-2005 at 10:54 PM.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    Entirely possible.

    How many times have dba's have screwed up renaming files (over existing files, for example)? There's no file system undo in %nix.

    I'd opt for scheduled downtime. Having someone look over my shoulder at the critical moment has kept me from doing some really stupid things too.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by KenEwald

    How many times have dba's have screwed up renaming files (over existing files, for example)? There's no file system undo in %nix.
    I'm not saying I would do it either, but if you HAD to do it, I would test this scenario in my crash&burn environment to verify my theory.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    233
    As Jeff says,

    This can be done (tested on 9.2.0.6, windows 2k3 EE standard LMT).

    Just make sure you are in archivelog mode or you won't be able to take the datafile offline.

    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width