Some Qns on Tuning - Urgent - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Some Qns on Tuning - Urgent

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    Cool.. Thanks onceagain..
    I am very clear now.
    Since the answers were betn dynamic and static changes I was hoping to use alter system/session commands..
    If it is init.ora it has to be bounced.

    How do we check the performance after changes??

    Any ideas? (Should we run a big job etc.,)..

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    If you thought you needed to change this parameter in the first place, you probably had some reason for choosing this parameter? No? Re-run the scenario that lead you to changing this parameter.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Portsmouth, NH, USA
    Posts
    378

    Talking yup yup


    We assumed you knew how to add parameters in your init.ora file and then shutdown/startup the DB. Just follow the instructions above and you should be all set.

    You also need to know the location of the init.ora file :-P

    - Magnus

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    To view the performance do

    alter system set timed_statistics = true.

    then you could run the statspack utility, which could be found if you have 8i under

    $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/admin/statspac.doc

    also you could run the utlbstat.sql to build the stats tables and then utlestat.sql to create a report. These above mentioned scripts would build only dynamic temp tables, on the other hand if you want to use the statspack, that would build some static tables which you could use for the future analysis too.

    All the above said scripts were found under the above stated path on unix.

    Sam

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    449
    Thx a lot Sambavan. I shall start looking into Statspack.
    You guys are really great. Great knowledge.dmp here..

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    50
    Check: if you have non zero value for DBWR_IO_SLAVES, Oracle will always use only one DBWn process, even youhave specified more than one DBW.

    There is no parameter called log_writer_process in Oracle.

    It's just my curiosity, why do you want to increase this value.

    Regards,

    abhijit

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Chicago IL
    Posts
    586

    Exclamation

    so you guys are saying that in order to increase IO we can use db_writer_processes = 2. In order to use db_writer_processes parameter you will have to invoke disk_asynch_io=true?

    thanks
    Jigar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width