Async/Sync IO
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Async/Sync IO

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    How can I tell if the OS supports/is Async or Sync IO?? OS is Sun Solaris 2.6. Thanx.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    According to "Oracle 8i & Unix Performance Tuning" by Ahmed Alomari, Solaris 2.6 AIO is supported both on file systems and raw devices. However, he recommends disabling AIO when running on 2.6 with file systems. (The init.ora parameter is disk_asynch_io=false)

    You can check this book out at [url]http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0130187062/o/qid=975958998/sr=8-1/ref=aps_sr_b_1_3/106-3395441-2765254[/url]
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    The parameter disk_async_io is set to True by default and I had set dbwr_io_slaves is set to 1. I just read that if disk_async_io is set to true, then dbwr_io_slaves should not be used. Is this correct?? The problem is that I notice a bottleneck with the DBWR and even with the LGWR. Is there a way to tune this?? I have only 1 CPU on the server. thanx.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Yes, if you are running AIO, you would not need to use dbwr_io_slaves. However, you may want to configure more than one DBWR process to help with your writes.

    You may want to look to see if any of your devices are getting saturated. (iostat -xdM 5)
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    But I don't think I can use more than 1 DBWR with only 1 CPU!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Sure you can. I just set up 4 dbwrs on a single CPU box. If your CPU is not swamped and you have adequate I/O bandwidth, go ahead, knock yourself out.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    Cool. What exactly do you mean by 'adequate I/O bandwidth'. Can you explain?? thanx.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    4 dbwr processes on 1 5400RPM disk = performance sucks
    4 dbwr processes on stiped 15KRPM FCAL disks = good performance.

    If you have 4 dbwr processes configured and they are all pumping data to the same disk, there will be disk contention. If you have 4 dbwr processes configured and the CPU is spinning at around 80-90% and the disks are < 50% busy, you are doing pretty good.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759

    Smile

    Thanx. I will try it out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width