sql loader goes inactive
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: sql loader goes inactive

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115

    sql loader goes inactive

    Hi,

    We have 1 job running on our production which recieves file through ftp from a mainframe machine and initiates sql loader. But everytime, the sql loader goes inactive after inserting few thousand records..precisely 20k..while the file ftped has around 6-7 million records.


    has any1 faced anything like this?

    Would it be...the loader is being called before the ftp is complete...i tested to run sql loader while the ftp is on..it still loads..without any problem..:-(

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    getting errors or discards?

    If you think you are getting a partial ftp file, I would ftp the main file, and then ftp a "marker" file. In your script you can check for presence of the marker file and know the main file has been sent.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115
    nopes..nothing..no bad file..no dsc file..nothing..log file says

    SQL Loader STARTED on Wed Feb 16 12:51:24 CST 2005


    and thats it..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    5,253
    any session activity? anything in the alert log?
    David Aldridge,
    "The Oracle Sponge"

    Senior Manager, Business Intelligence Development
    XM Satellite Radio
    Washington, DC

    Oracle ACE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115

    Unhappy

    Hi,

    Again this problem, and this happens everytime..after exactly 19000 records. And I dont have access to the alert log..but the funny part is , this loader has failed 3 times in 3 months..for only 1 function(its runs just fine for all other functions)..and it fails after exactly 19000 records:-(

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    If its a cronjob, then check if the job is writing any logs.
    Check the timing of the sqlloader job also check when the ftp of the file completes.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115
    Hey Anand,

    Thanks for the reply.

    it is writing into a log file. But it writes till exactly 19456 record and then it hangs.

    Actually we let the job sleep for 30 mins before actually loading the file using sql loader to be actually sure that the file has been transfered before we start the loader.

    yet the job hangs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115
    and another thing..

    the sql loader log file..it writes noting into it..a 0 byte file is created ..even though 19456 records are inserted into the table through the loader.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    115
    Hi,

    Just before the sqlloader starts, there is a truncate command for the same table..and they have set the parameter on for output as

    set serveroutput on size 1000000;

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    and what does v$session_wait say?

    and have you checked if your SQL*Loader session still exists?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width