starting database in restricted mode automatically
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: starting database in restricted mode automatically

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7

    starting database in restricted mode automatically

    Hi,
    I would like to start oracle database in restricted session mode.
    I am able to do this using SQL/PLUS by
    startup restrict
    and after that could alter the system into normal mode.
    But I would like to open my database automatically when the server
    starts. I would like the database to be opened in restricted mode.
    So I tried to open database using oradim utility but could not achive. I also tried to write this into the parameter file. But I do not know if it works or not or I do not know the name of the parameter for enabling restrict session mode.
    So is there any way to do this.
    Thank you very much..
    Kind regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    It doesn't make any sense to start a database when server starts in a restricted mode. Usually, it should be open for use.

    Can you somehow, tell us what is your reason why you open your database in that mode?

    what if there's no DBA around, and the server needs to restart?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639

    Angry

    Maybe he has to do some routinary maintenance activity before
    allowing users to use the database

    Ms C3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by kris123
    Maybe he has to do some routinary maintenance activity before
    allowing users to use the database

    Ms C3
    If there is a routinary maintenance work use CRON or Task Scheduler.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639
    Ohhhh dear papa, i mean on the database side of course...
    u still have to start it in restricted mode

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by kris123
    Ohhhh dear papa, i mean on the database side of course...
    u still have to start it in restricted mode
    Database side maintenance can also be run by Task scheduler.

    Embedded sql scripts to be run by a batch process. A Batch Process is attached to Task scheduler.

    open your db in restricted mode.
    run your maintenance blah.blah.
    restart the db without restrict option.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639
    Ok then, maybe syucel can use the task scheduler to solve his problem

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    7
    You say I could use task scheduler, but in what way?
    I know that I primitively can use batch file and can write in
    the oradim command to open database. But oradim does not take
    any parameter for restrict session mode. I mean I could not say to oradim to open database in restrict session mode. I could only startup in restrict mode using sql startup command.
    And when oracle is openening it read from the parameter file. I tried to write in the parameter file for enabling restrict session mode but cant.
    Yes before any user is connected to the database, I have to disable triggers automatically , because the other database will be replicated to this database.
    Also I appreciate the user saying that the database is opened for use, why I am opening in restrict mode. Of course database is for use....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    you don't need to use oradim to create a batch file that:
    1. open a sql session
    2. and connect as sysdba
    3. start with restrict option
    4. disable triggers
    5. open the database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width