I want to corrupt a datablock(!)
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: I want to corrupt a datablock(!)

  1. #1

    I want to corrupt a datablock(!)

    Hi there,
    ok, I want to do a demo of how to recover if you get a block corruption, and need to use dbms_repair & rowid scans to retrieve as much data as poss etc.

    To do that I need to corrupt a single block in a datafile on unix, and this is where im stuck....

    Anyone out there have any ideas how to do this. I have an idea I can use dd to copy the file out and then edit in Vi, and the use dd to put it back... or something - dunno. Any advice would be usefull...

    ta lots, Bob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Ask a developer.

    Where is gandolf when you need him?
    I remember when this place was cool.

  3. #3
    Hmm....
    .... I posted a Tar as well - I would be amazed if Oracle Support comes back with anything usefull though...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    need to find a block editor

    maybe od could do it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Got a magnet?
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Mesa, Arizona
    Posts
    1,204
    http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/B...ditor-hex.html

    I've seen it done, but it was long ago. How you know which bytes to change is a mystery to me. Guess you could just change away till analyze table validate structure turns up a corrupt block.

    Maybe gandolf is off getting his hair bleached.
    "Gandalf the Grey" becomes "Gandalf the White"

    -Ken

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    Just open a small datafile in notepad and save it.The block should be corrupted

    regards
    Hrishy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,015
    Originally posted by Mr.Hanky
    Ask a developer.

    Where is gandolf when you need him?
    Somehow when you think corrupt, my name comes up? I would have thought that you would have been smart enough to know that any editor can corrupt a datafile. In fact I would have assumed that you had already practiced that!
    this space intentionally left blank

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    1

    try bbed

    Oracle itself provides a tool called bbed.
    Normally Oracle support use it for repairing blocks. Of course, you can use to corrupt blocks.

    You need to compile bbed urself.
    $ cd $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib
    $ make -f ins_rdbms.mk $ORACLE_HOME/rdbms/lib/bbed

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Jolo, Sulu
    Posts
    639
    thats cool hun
    But i still dont know how to use it (after compiling)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width