DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: help with mapping

Question help with mapping

Hi all i am a newbie to oracle development. I have just created an EERD (Please see attached) and would like to know how to map my global schema into a set of normalised relations stating the origins of each relation and its role in the database schema. Also what other contraints could i have.

Any assistance would be really appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images

SO you want someone to tell you what tables, columns, primary key, foreign keys and indexes you will need?
    Is there anything else???

Tony, I admire your cheek - that's $'000 of consulting you're asking for free!

You might want to look at the sub-typing of Client & Branch:
    - is it necessary?
    - a buiness-org doesn't have gender, salary, first/last name, dob etc: so why are these attributes on the super-type?
    - do single and married clients have different attributes?
    - do the London, New-York branches have different attributes? not really according to your diagram, so they don't model well as sub-types.

The sub-typing of Loan looks bizzare to me, but I don't know the business.

Unhappy more info on help with mapping

Sorry didnt mean to be cheeky just got confused and wanted some advice to make sure i have got the right erd and your questions have really helped. Actually thought i was doing ok but dont have any teachers to go to as i am doing self study. Now that i know that mapping means getting the right tables, columns, primary key, foreign keys and indexes(what do you mean by indexes know the rest but dont understand indexes?) once i get the erd right i should be able to do it my self

I am trying to create a loans information system from an exercise i am doing (trying to learn oracle as you can see i a not that good hence the stupid questions).