gv$archive_dest_status and standby db
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: gv$archive_dest_status and standby db

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187

    gv$archive_dest_status and standby db

    According to ref guide for V$ARCHIVE_DEST_STATUS

    APPLIED_SEQ# ...
    Identifies the log sequence number of the most recent applied redo log received at the destination

    So why do I get more than one row like the following

    SQL> select applied_seq#, applied_thread#
    2 from gv$archive_dest_status
    3 where applied_thread# > 0;

    APPLIED_SEQ# APPLIED_THREAD#
    ------------ ---------------
    6625 1
    6620 1

    SQL>

    From the ref guide I would expect to get *the most recent*
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Can you paste a "select *" instead?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by Axr2
    Can you paste a "select *" instead?
    here it is - thanks

    steve
    Attached Files Attached Files
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    Please format output and repost. "set pages 2000"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Axr2 probably ment SET LINESIZE 2000
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    807
    No, I was more concerned about the pagesize, than the linesize. The repeated headers made it unreadable more than anything. I don't know what his defaults are set to in the login.sql..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Ah, OK. But with large enough LINESIZE you would get quite normaly readable output (no repeating headers, each reccord in one line), while only by eliminating repeated headers the output would still be barely readable.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    1,187
    Originally posted by jmodic
    Ah, OK. But with large enough LINESIZE you would get quite normaly readable output (no repeating headers, each reccord in one line), while only by eliminating repeated headers the output would still be barely readable.
    thanks all, i was able to find out what i was looking for with the following

    Select max(prmy.sequence#)-max(stby.sequence#) into v_gap_thread_1
    from V$ARCHIVED_LOG@hr stby, V$ARCHIVED_LOG@hr prmy where stby.applied='YES' and stby.thread#=prmy.thread# and stby.thread#=1 group by stby.thread#;
    dbms_output.put_line('thread one has a gap of '|| v_gap_thread_1

    this lets me know the gap and it from there I can do 'if gap is too big then page dba' type of thing
    Last edited by stmontgo; 03-18-2005 at 12:58 PM.
    I'm stmontgo and I approve of this message

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    I'm a bit puzzled here. Obviously you are executing this code on the standby database, no? So you must open the standby database in read-only. Do you open it regulary anyway (for some kind of reporting purposes) or is it just to run this piece of code?
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Hi,
    To access v$ tables & views, standby db does not need to be opened in REAY ONLY MODE, if its in mount stage thats enough.

    Yes, if you want to access any application related table it needs to be opened in READ ONLY MODE.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width