DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem with putting Standby Database in managed recovery mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4

    Post Problem with putting Standby Database in managed recovery mode

    Hi DBA Gurus,

    We have a problem with keeping our Oracle standby database in 'MANAGED RECOVER MODE'.

    Following is the situation:

    In Standby database, I issue the following query

    SQL> STARTUP NOMOUNT;
    SQL> ALTER DATABASE MOUNT STANDBY DATABASE;
    SQL> RECOVER STANDBY DATABASE;

    All the archived logs are properly transferred from Primary to Standby Database.

    When I issue the RECOVER STANDBY DATABASE, all the logs gets applied. However , when I want to put the Standby in 'MANAGED RECOVER MODE'
    by issuing 'RECOVER MANAGED STANDBY DATABASE', it comes out after few seconds with the error message as follows:

    ORA-00308 : cannot open archived log
    'D:\ORACLE\ORADATA\STBY\ARCHIVE\LOG_00392.ARC'
    ORA-27041:unable to open file
    ORA-04002:unable to open file
    O/S- Error : The system cannot find the file specified.

    The funny part is that the next sequence log(00392, in this case), which it is expecting has not been generated in the Primary Database itself.

    I don't know why it is not waiting in the managed recover mode. We are using Oracle 8.1.6 running on windows NT.
    Please help me. Thanks in advance for your valuable help.

    With Regards,
    A.M

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    You need to:

    Code:
    SQL> STARTUP NOMOUNT pfile=STANDBY.ora;
    SQL> ALTER DATABASE MOUNT STANDBY DATABASE;
    SQL> RECOVER STANDBY DATABASE; -- DON'T DO THIS BIT IF YOU WANT IT IN MANAGED STANDBY!!!
    SQL> RECOVER MANAGED STANDBY DATABASE;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    Ignore my last post, I did't read your question properly... DOH!! I'll come back with something sensible shortly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    I can't seem to replicate that.... Are you sure you are using the right init.ora file on startup?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    There is a bug in 8.1.6 which produces this problem (1226437). The workaround is to recreate the primary and standby controlfiles and then apply the logs.

    Take a look at these metalink threads:

    http://support.oracle.co.uk/metalink..._id=418186.999

    http://support.oracle.co.uk/metalink...G&p_id=1226437

    HTH
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    Tried to replicate on 8.1.7... Typical...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4
    Hi Jim,

    Yes, I also started to believe that it is a bug. Let me try the turnaround suggested by you.

    Thanks to all who responded to my post. Please let me know if there is a solution to this problem other than workaround suggested by Jim.

    With Regards,
    A.M

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width