CPU_COUNT and licensing (Windows box)
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: CPU_COUNT and licensing (Windows box)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818

    CPU_COUNT and licensing (Windows box)

    I have a development box soon to go live. The Network Admins say it has 2 processors and thus is eligible for Standard Edition One Licensing metric (max 2 CPUs).

    The CPU_COUNT ini param has been set during DB creation as 4. Indeed when I check the box (Windows 2003) it shows 4 CPUs in action in the memory tab in Task Manager.

    Device Manager also shows 4 processors: 2 x Intel Xeon 2.5Ghz processors and 2 x 'Processors' using MS processr.sys drivers.

    Are these 'real' CPUS? How does Oracle quantify the # of CPUs?

    you can understand why I don't want to leap in ask Sales or Support about this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    How about taking off the lid and counting them?

    What does "Admin Tools \ Computer Management \ . . . . \ System Summary" say?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    367
    It is my understanding that both Windows 2003 and Oracle show 4 CPUs when you physically only have 2 if they are those new fangled hyper-threading ones (like the new Xeon MP). I'm not a Windows guy however, so perhaps others might confirm this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    Originally posted by DaPi
    How about taking off the lid and counting them?]
    Was to be my last resort, and as the box is several miles away not one I want to do unless I have to!


    What does "Admin Tools \ Computer Management \ . . . . \ System Summary" say?
    Don't have a System Summary tab, but Admin Tools \ Computer Management \ Device Manager \ Processors " shows 4 as I said in my original post.

    I'm just confused by the different signs that Oracle and Windows tell me, versus what the Admins tell me.

    Do you have any idea how Oracle would define the situation if we were audited? Would they go straight to CPU_COUNT in the params, would they trust what Windows told them, or would they open the box and count CPUs!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612
    I think hacketta1 is right. In my box at home Task Manager etc tells me I have two processors, when I know full well I only have one!!

    If you have a C++ compiler, have a look at this:

    cpu counting

    Surely Oracle would have to take the PHYSICAL number of processors, rather than what CPU_COUNT says.... If not, i'm screwed!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    That app shows that I have 2 physical processors, but that I have 2 logical processors per processor (which gives 4 logical processors).

    My next question is: what the hell is a logical processor?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    612

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chester, England.
    Posts
    818
    Originally posted by waitecj
    Hyper-threading
    Which Intel Xeons do, indeed, implement.

    Question answered then. Thanks chaps.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Not so fast there. Oracle came out with a statement a couple months ago that Dual Core processors would be counted as two processors even though they are one physical processor. Best to call your Oracle Licensing weasel to verify lest you be audited.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    367
    Dual Core processors
    I reckon that would apply to the dual-dye CPUs you get on the HP 9000 PA-RISC platforms which I believe are 'sort of' physically two CPUs in one, but with a shared cache. But would it apply to hyper-threading? JMac, if you get an answer from Oracle about this I'd be interested to know what it is.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width