db refresh using hotback
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: db refresh using hotback

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    96

    db refresh using hotback

    Hi ,

    I want to know the steps to do a database refresh or create a test database using hotbackup of production database. Can somebody please let me know the steps how to achieve that ?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    1. alter db backup controlfile to trace (from primary)
    2. precreate test db and shutdown
    3. edit init.ora
    4. restore hotbackup inc. arch files
    5. edit trace file
    6. recreate controlfile using trace file and recover db

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    96
    Thanks..

    So, I do this way...

    STARTUP NOMOUNT;

    CREATE CONTROLFILE set DATABASE "TEST" RESETLOGS noARCHIVELOG
    MAXLOGFILES 8
    MAXLOGMEMBERS 4
    MAXDATAFILES 1021
    MAXINSTANCES 1
    MAXLOGHISTORY 226
    LOGFILE
    GROUP 1 (
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/logg1m1.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/logg1m2.dbf'
    ) SIZE 128M,
    GROUP 2 (
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/logg2m1.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/logg2m2.dbf'
    ) SIZE 128M,
    GROUP 3 (
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/logg3m1.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/logg3m2.dbf'
    ) SIZE 128M
    DATAFILE
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/system01.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/ts_undo01.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/psindex02.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/ts_undo02.dbf',
    '/dvl/oracle/db1/ts_stpack01.dbf'
    CHARACTER SET WE8ISO8859P1;

    RECOVER DATABASE using backup controlfile until cancel;

    ALTER DATABASE OPEN resetlogs;

    ALTER TABLESPACE TEMP ADD TEMPFILE '/dvl/oracle/db1/temp02.dbf'
    SIZE 1024M REUSE AUTOEXTEND OFF;

    correct?

    when i do from colbackup, i wont use RECOVER DATABASE using backup controlfile until cancel;

    so, in this case of hotbackup, I have to use RECOVER DATABASE using backup controlfile until cancel;

    Waiting for input..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    Correct.
    Make sure you include UNDO related parameters in the parameter file else create controlfile will fail.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    96
    UNDO related parameters applies to 9i right not for 8i ??
    also I will be just doing alter backup controlfile to trace from PROD and then edit it to be run in TEST.
    and when I do RECOVER DATABASE using backup controlfile until cancel, i guess I have to supply the archive logs ??

    Pls advice

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    Correct.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    96
    Thank you very much, if there is anything else that needs to be looked into,pls let me know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width