question about redo log swich and checkpoints
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: question about redo log swich and checkpoints

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    64

    question about redo log swich and checkpoints

    When I look in the alert log I see this:
    Current log# 1 seq# 7802300 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo01.log
    Current log# 1 seq# 7802300 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo01.log
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802301
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802301 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo04.ora
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802301 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo04.ora
    Thread 1 cannot allocate new log, sequence 7802302
    Checkpoint not complete
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802301 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo04.ora
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802301 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo04.ora
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802302
    Current log# 3 seq# 7802302 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo03.ora
    Current log# 3 seq# 7802302 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo03.ora
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802303
    Current log# 2 seq# 7802303 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo02.log
    Current log# 2 seq# 7802303 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo02.log
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802304
    Current log# 1 seq# 7802304 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo01.log
    Current log# 1 seq# 7802304 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo01.log
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802305
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802305 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo04.ora
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802305 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo04.ora
    Thread 1 cannot allocate new log, sequence 7802306
    Checkpoint not complete
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802305 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo04.ora
    Current log# 4 seq# 7802305 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo04.ora
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802306
    Current log# 3 seq# 7802306 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo03.ora
    Current log# 3 seq# 7802306 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo03.ora
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802307
    Current log# 2 seq# 7802307 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo02.log
    Current log# 2 seq# 7802307 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo02.log
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802308
    Current log# 1 seq# 7802308 mem# 0: /u02/oradata/O8I5A/redo01.log
    Current log# 1 seq# 7802308 mem# 1: /usr/oracle/redo01.log
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 7802309

    What can be causing this, and how I can solve it?
    I have 4 groups with 2 members each on separate drives. Size of the members is 500K. Oracle 8.1.5 on AIX.
    No Mutants Allowed

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    I'd increase the number of groups.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Keene, NH
    Posts
    510
    ....or get faster disks

    but DaPi's advice is usually more reasonable

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Edison, NJ
    Posts
    759
    The log switches are taking place too fast, either because of the small size of the redo log files and/or due a high # of transactions/redo. This is the reason for the error:
    Thread 1 cannot allocate new log, sequence 7802302
    Checkpoint not complete
    Increase the size of the redo log files. Start with file size of say, 5M and tune accordingly.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    13
    If you have not Stanby it's better start from 100-200Mb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857

    Re: question about redo log swich and checkpoints

    Originally posted by arokh
    Size of the members is 500K
    It's way too small.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mexicali.Mexico
    Posts
    13

    Re: Re: question about redo log swich and checkpoints

    Originally posted by reydp
    It's way too small.
    Yes, you should increase them accordingly the load you database have. I'd get the timing of the redo switching and increase the size of the log members so the switching time is no less than 30 minutes.

    Also, if the problem arises intermittently you should audit the applications or batch processes that might be generating a large amount of redo information. You can use log miner to see a clearer picture (stats) of what's filling your redo logs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Sofia, Bulgaria
    Posts
    64
    Thank You for the advices. I increased the size of the redo logs and added two more groups.
    No Mutants Allowed

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width