Analyze Not Working?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Analyze Not Working?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    515

    Analyze Not Working?

    We have a "Month End Process" that runs once a month. It does a lot of processing on the information stored throughout the month. During this process there is a tables that gets populated with around 900,000 large records. In the code after the records are inserted there is a analyze command:

    EXECUTE IMMEDIATE 'Analyze table large_table ESTIMATE statistics SAMPLE 10 PERCENT';


    When I look at the statistics it looks like the analyze never happens. Does anyone have any ideas why this is not working? Could it be a permission problem? The user running the process owns the tables.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    What does your error say?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    515

    No Errors

    There are no errors. It just does not get analyzed????

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Can you analyze the table manually with the same ID.
    You may need to grant ANALYZE ANY to that user.
    I remember when this place was cool.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    and what are you looking at to say there are no statistics

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092

    Re: No Errors

    Originally posted by lesstjm
    There are no errors. It just does not get analyzed????
    There are no errors or you just don't catch any errors?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mexicali.Mexico
    Posts
    13
    See possible answer in this thread:
    http://www.dbasupport.com/forums/sho...threadid=45685

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width