drop spfile
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: drop spfile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    346

    drop spfile

    All I can find in the docs in 'Create spfile....'

    What's the syntax for dropping the damn thing....

    ALTER DATABASE DROP SPFILE ??? nope, not that...

    Okay, I'm being a bit lazy, but it's an easy one eh?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    346
    Or do I just delete the underlying server file?? Which forces the instance to use the standard pfile......

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    yes, just drop the dam thing.
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    3,968
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    yes, just drop the dam thing.
    for a love child you aren't showing any love.
    this space intentionally left blank

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    346
    What? - the underlying physical file??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    1. create you pfile
    2. put a link in your $ORACLE_HOME/dbs to that pfile in the form of initSID.ora
    3. shutdown your db
    4. rm your spfile using an os command
    5. startup

    The startup procedure looks for an spfile first and then looks in ?/dbs for initSID.ora.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    346
    Thanks Jeff, I knew that. I've already got the whole initSID.ora linking to the actual init.ora

    I'm modifying the init.ora and on bouncing the database, the spfile kicks in, and ignores the changes I've made.

    Yes, I could recreat the spfile from the pfile,

    BUT, I've decided I just want to remove the flamin' spfile.

    I think the answer I'm looking for is your point 4. Ta.

    Point of interest, can this be done with the instance up and running?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    yes it can

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Take bazzas's advice - it should not take you more than two minutes to create a new pfile from the alert.log information.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    346
    err.......

    bazzas's advice, jurij......??????

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width