DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Enterprise Manager on Oracle 9i

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335

    Re: Update

    Originally posted by djtomr941

    About the only thing I have not done is uninstall Windows and reinstall it. I have another machine here which is an XP SP2 with much more memory and a Faster CPU setup. I will attempt th same install and see what happens and keep you posted. I want to find out if it might be some sort of software/hardware conflict on this machine affecting it.
    Ok, you read the docs like I asked? Is the system up to the job?
    How about answering the other questions??!! I'm afraid I don't look at the forum over a weekend, but if you care to answer my earlier questions perhaps we can take this forward. You do appreciate the repository is held within a database so for the middle tier (OMS) to communicate to it, it uses the listener? Tnsping is great, doesn't mean anything if there's a problem with the underlying database.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    24

    Update

    I appreciate all your help.

    Yes I verified the listener was listening to the proper service. I can connect to the DB using SQL Plus and login as the schema and verified it installed everything. So I know this is set up right.

    To answer your earlier question, Yes I did what you said. I looked up the information and the Server can run with 256MB of RAM but they highly recommend 512MB.

    This is what I found in the documentation for requirements which I found in this document

    Oracle 9.2 EM guide

    Management Server, Client, HTTP Server, Intelligent Agent or Management Server and Client
    Requirements are listed below for a machine running the Management Server Release 9.2, Enterprise Manager Client Release 9.2, Oracle HTTP Server Release,
    and Oracle Intelligent Agent 9. 2 or for an Oracle Management Server machine which also runs the Enterprise Manager Client:


    Enterprise Manager Web Site Requirements are listed below for a machine running only the Enterprise Manager
    Web Site, which also includes the preconfigured Oracle HTTP Server.

    Required 866MHZ Pentium Processor
    256 MB RAM

    Recommended 512 MB RAM


    Note: Information listed above does not account for the database
    Repository. Refer to your database documentation for appropriate system and hardware requirements specific to an Oracle database.
    As you can see the memory is pushing it, but as you said it should work.
    Last edited by djtomr941; 11-20-2004 at 01:09 AM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    24

    OEMCTL.BAT

    Below is my oemctl.bat file which is in the c:\oracle\ora92\bin folder.

    @echo off
    setLocal

    SET OMS_OTRACE_CF=true

    if "%OMS_MAX_ABNORMAL_EXIT%." == "." set OMS_MAX_ABNORMAL_EXIT=3

    if "%OMS_TIME_DELTA%." == "." set OMS_TIME_DELTA=600

    set PREV_DATE=0
    set NUM_ABORTS=0

    REM Make sure that our JRE is used for this invocation.
    SET PATH=C:\Program Files\Oracle\jre\1.1.8\bin;C:\oracle\ora92\bin;%PATH%

    SET OHOME=C:\oracle\ora92
    SET CLASSROOT=C:\oracle\ora92\classes
    SET JLIBROOT=C:\oracle\ora92\jlib
    SET NETJLIBROOT=C:\oracle\ora92\network\jlib
    SET OEMCLASSES=%JLIBROOT%/oembase-9_2_0.jar;%JLIBROOT%/oemtools-9_2_0.jar
    SET BALICLASSES=%JLIBROOT%/swingall-1_1_1.jar;%JLIBROOT%/ewtcompat-3_3_15.jar;%JLIBROOT%/ewt3.jar;%JLIBROOT%/ewt3-nls.jar;%JLIBROOT%/share.jar
    SET AURORACLASSES=C:\oracle\ora92\lib\aurora_client.jar
    SET JDBCCLASSES=C:\oracle\ora92\jdbc\lib\classes111.zip;C:\oracle\ora92\jdbc\lib\nls_charset11.zip
    SET ORBCLASSES=C:\oracle\ora92/lib/vbjorb.jar;C:\oracle\ora92/lib/vbjapp.jar
    SET SECURITYCLASSES=%JLIBROOT%/javax-ssl-1_1.jar;%JLIBROOT%/jssl-1_1.jar
    SET OSDNETCLASSES=%JLIBROOT%/netcfg.jar
    SET XMLCLASSES=C:\oracle\ora92\lib\xmlparserv2.jar
    SET MISCCLASSES=C:\oracle\ora92/assistants/jlib/assistantsCommon.jar;%JLIBROOT%/jle2.jar;%JLIBROOT%/jle2-nls.jar
    SET QSMACLASSES=C:\oracle\ora92\rdbms\jlib\qsma.jar
    SET NETMGRCLASSES=%NETJLIBROOT%/netmgrm.jar;%NETJLIBROOT%/netmgr.jar;C:\oracle\ora92/network/tools

    SET CLASSPATHADD=%ORBCLASSES%;%BALICLASSES%;%JDBCCLASSES%;%OHOME%;%CLASSROOT%;%NETJLIBROOT%;%OEMCLASSES% ;%SECURITYCLASSES%;%OSDNETCLASSES%;%AURORACLASSES%;%XMLCLASSES%;%MISCCLASSES%;%QSMACLASSES%;%NETMGRC LASSES%

    REM hook for classpath additions
    if not "%ORACLE_OEM_CLASSPATH%" == "" SET CLASSPATHADD=%ORACLE_OEM_CLASSPATH%;%CLASSPATHADD%


    SET JRE=jre -nojit -mx128m
    SET CLASSPATH_QUAL=cp

    if "%ORACLE_OEM_JAVARUNTIME%x" EQU "x" goto jreSetup
    SET JRE=%ORACLE_OEM_JAVARUNTIME%\bin\java -mx128m
    SET CLASSPATH_QUAL=classpath
    SET CLASSPATHADD=%CLASSPATHADD%;%ORACLE_OEM_JAVARUNTIME%\lib\classes.zip


    :jreSetup

    SET ME=oemctl
    SET USAGE="Usage: %ME% {start|stop|status} oms [Credentials]"


    REM # Action requested

    if "%1%" == "/?" goto syntax
    if "%1%" == "" goto syntax
    goto checkaction

    :syntax
    @echo "Syntax: OEMCTL START OMS "
    @echo " OEMCTL STOP OMS /"
    @echo " OEMCTL STATUS OMS /[@]"
    @echo " OEMCTL PING OMS "
    @echo " OEMCTL START PAGING [BootHost Name] "
    @echo " OEMCTL STOP PAGING [BootHost Name] "
    @echo " OEMCTL ENABLE EVENTHANDLER"
    @echo " OEMCTL DISABLE EVENTHANDLER"
    @echo " OEMCTL EXPORT EVENTHANDLER "
    @echo " OEMCTL IMPORT EVENTHANDLER "
    @echo " OEMCTL DUMP EVENTHANDLER"
    @echo " OEMCTL IMPORT REGISTRY /@"
    @echo " OEMCTL EXPORT REGISTRY /@"
    @echo " OEMCTL CONFIGURE RWS"
    goto end

    :checkaction

    if "%1%" == "start" goto start_component
    if "%1%" == "START" goto start_component

    if "%1%" == "stop" goto stop_component
    if "%1%" == "STOP" goto stop_component

    if "%1%" == "status" goto status_component
    if "%1%" == "STATUS" goto status_component

    if "%1%" == "dump" goto dump_component
    if "%1%" == "DUMP" goto dump_component

    if "%1%" == "launch" goto launch_component
    if "%1%" == "LAUNCH" goto launch_component

    if "%1%" == "ping" goto ping_component
    if "%1%" == "PING" goto ping_component

    if "%1%" == "pinginternal" goto pinginternal_component
    if "%1%" == "PINGINTERNAL" goto pinginternal_component

    if "%1%" == "enable" goto enable_component
    if "%1%" == "ENABLE" goto enable_component

    if "%1%" == "disable" goto disable_component
    if "%1%" == "DISABLE" goto disable_component

    if "%1%" == "import" goto import_component
    if "%1%" == "IMPORT" goto import_component

    if "%1%" == "export" goto export_component
    if "%1%" == "EXPORT" goto export_component

    if "%1%" == "CONFIGURE" goto configure_component
    if "%1%" == "configure" goto configure_component

    @echo "Action unknown. Supported Actions: {START | STOP | STATUS | PING | ENABLE | DISABLE | IMPORT | EXPORT | CONFIGURE}"
    goto end

    :start_component
    if "%2%" == "oms" goto start_oms
    if "%2%" == "OMS" goto start_oms

    if "%2%" == "paging" goto start_paging
    if "%2%" == "PAGING" goto start_paging


    @echo "Component unknown. Supported Components: {OMS | PAGING }"
    goto end

    :launch_component
    if "%2%" == "oms" goto launch_oms
    if "%2%" == "OMS" goto launch_oms

    if "%2%" == "paging" goto launch_paging
    if "%2%" == "PAGING" goto launch_paging

    @echo "Component unknown. Supported Components: {OMS }"
    goto end

    ing_component
    if "%2%" == "oms" goto ping_oms
    if "%2%" == "OMS" goto ping_oms


    @echo "Component unknown. Supported Components: {OMS }"
    goto end

    inginternal_component
    if "%2%" == "oms" goto ping_oms_internal
    if "%2%" == "OMS" goto ping_oms_internal


    @echo "Component unknown. Supported Components: {OMS }"
    goto end

    :configure_component
    if "%2%" == "RWS" goto configure_webserver
    if "%2%" == "rws" goto configure_webserver

    @echo "Component unknown. Supported Components: {RWS}"
    goto end

    :start_oms
    net start OracleOraHome92ManagementServer
    goto end

    :launch_oms
    SET OMS_ID=%3%
    SET CREDENTIALS=%4%
    SET STARTMODE=start
    SET OMS_NOHUP_FILE=C:\oracle\ora92\sysman\log\oms.nohup

    :launch_oms_only
    %JRE% -Doms.startMode=%STARTMODE% -DORACLE_HOME=C:\oracle\ora92 -Doms.id=%OMS_ID% -DORBdisableLocator=true -DOEM.JRE="%JRE%" -Djdbc.backward_compatible_to_816=true -%CLASSPATH_QUAL% "%CLASSPATHADD%" oracle.sysman.vxa.VxaAppServer %CREDENTIALS% >>%OMS_NOHUP_FILE% 2>&1
    if "%errorlevel%" == "56" goto oms_init_fail
    if "%errorlevel%" == "0" goto oms_normal_shutdown

    :check_restart
    REM Check whether OMS has to be restarted or not
    set OMS_RSTRT_CHK_FILE=%OHOME%\sysman\config\oemCheckRestart.bat
    set OMS_RESTART=0
    %JRE% -DORACLE_HOME=C:\oracle\ora92 -%CLASSPATH_QUAL% "%CLASSPATHADD%" oracle.sysman.vxa.VxaCheckOMSRestart %OMS_MAX_ABNORMAL_EXIT% %OMS_TIME_DELTA% PREV_DATE %PREV_DATE% NUM_ABORTS %NUM_ABORTS% OMS_RESTART > %OMS_RSTRT_CHK_FILE%
    @call %OMS_RSTRT_CHK_FILE%
    del %OMS_RSTRT_CHK_FILE%

    if "%OMS_RESTART%" == "0" goto no_restart
    goto restart

    :restart
    echo Restarting the Oracle management Server.... >>%OMS_NOHUP_FILE%
    set STARTMODE=restart
    goto launch_oms_only

    :no_restart
    @echo "Management server thrashing. Exiting oemctrl.bat" >>%OMS_NOHUP_FILE%
    goto end

    ms_init_fail
    @echo "Could not start management server. Initialization failure" >>%OMS_NOHUP_FILE%
    @echo "Management server startup failed. Check the file %OMS_NOHUP_FILE% for details"
    goto end

    ms_normal_shutdown
    @echo "Management server shutdown normally" >>%OMS_NOHUP_FILE%
    goto end

    ing_oms
    %JRE% -DORACLE_HOME=C:\oracle\ora92 -DORBdisableLocator=true -Doem.BootPort=7771 -Djdbc.backward_compatible_to_816=true -%CLASSPATH_QUAL% "%CLASSPATHADD%" oracle.sysman.vxa.VxaOMSPing
    goto end

    ing_oms_internal
    SET OMS_ID=%3%
    %JRE% -DORACLE_HOME=C:\oracle\ora92 -DORBdisableLocator=true -Doem.BootPort=7771 -Djdbc.backward_compatible_to_816=true -%CLASSPATH_QUAL% "%CLASSPATHADD%" oracle.sysman.vxa.VxaOMSPing %OMS_ID%
    goto end

    :start_paging
    net start OracleOraHome92PagingServer
    goto end

    :launch_paging
    %JRE% -DORACLE_HOME=C:\oracle\ora92 -DORBdisableLocator=true -Doem.BootPort=7771 -Djdbc.backward_compatible_to_816=true -%CLASSPATH_QUAL% "%CLASSPATHADD%" oracle.sysman.vnn.VnnPagingServer
    goto end

    :stop_component
    if "%2%" == "oms" goto stop_oms
    if "%2%" == "OMS" goto stop_oms

    if "%2%" == "paging" goto stop_paging
    if "%2%" == "PAGING" goto stop_paging

    (more info but I left it out)
    Last edited by djtomr941; 11-19-2004 at 10:19 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,334
    xp home or xp prof?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    24

    XP PRO

    XP PRO with SP2.

    It could be something with SP2 since it came out after Oracle was certified on XP Pro.

    I in fact am going to try it on another machine with 512 MB RAM with XP Pro SP2 in a second.

    I will let you know how it goes. I think it's something with the JRE, maybe the system is not allocating it enough memory or something since I only have 256. I was actually going to go out and buy a stick of ram and put it in this laptop.

    The reason I was using this laptop with everything on it is that I was going to give a presentation and show some of the inner-workings of Oracle with the OMS, Repository, DB, Listener, Intelligent agent etc etc.(well you get the idea)

    I've looked all over the place and found next to nothing as far as information goes.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    24

    Update

    Ok Did this on another machine with XP PRO SP2 with the standard install and them EMCA which sets up the oms. I try to start it and I get the EXACT SAME ERROR in the exact same spot.

    I am starting to think it is some sort of SP2 problem.

    I am going to load an earlier version of Oracle not 9.2, I might even go back to 8i just to see if it starts. I am pretty sure it is. I am starting to think it is just not compatible with SP2.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    24

    WORKING

    Got it working.

    This is what I did and it worked on both machines.

    I did an ipconfig from the command prompt to find the DNS suffix. Mine was tampabay.rr.com

    I then got my computer name by right clicking properties on my computer and went to computer name.

    I then combined it so computername.tampabay.rr.com

    I then went to c:\windows\system32\drivers\config\etc and edited the hosts file.

    I added an entry that looks like this

    127.0.0.1 computername.tampabay.rr.com

    AND IT WORKED!!!

    I guess what the JRE is doing is trying to find an entry for your computer in the DNS. Without that it won't BIND.

    I hope others out there on the net that had this problem find this on google etc so they can find out exactly what to do. Feel free to add a reply : )

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Glad you got it working, OEM is a stickler for a correct network setup.

    Baz

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1

    OMS service problem

    I have been looking for a help on the problem of OMS service not starting for a while and I found your comments the most useful hint I have ever found.

    Let me ask you a question: You changed the hosts file, removed localhost and placed computerName.domain, I like to make this change but also would like to keep the localhost and maybe even the current computer name without domain suffix since I am concerned that I have other applications that may not like this change. In Unix system, you can have many aliases on one line for a given IP (for example IP localhost, computerName,computerName.domain). Do you know if the same thing can be done in windows?

    Thanks


    Quote Originally Posted by djtomr941
    Got it working.

    This is what I did and it worked on both machines.

    I did an ipconfig from the command prompt to find the DNS suffix. Mine was tampabay.rr.com

    I then got my computer name by right clicking properties on my computer and went to computer name.

    I then combined it so computername.tampabay.rr.com

    I then went to c:\windows\system32\drivers\config\etc and edited the hosts file.

    I added an entry that looks like this

    127.0.0.1 computername.tampabay.rr.com

    AND IT WORKED!!!

    I guess what the JRE is doing is trying to find an entry for your computer in the DNS. Without that it won't BIND.

    I hope others out there on the net that had this problem find this on google etc so they can find out exactly what to do. Feel free to add a reply : )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width