init.ora file location - Page 3
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50

Thread: init.ora file location

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    Wanna bet?
    I don't wanna bet....
    but I'm going to salute you, if you can do that.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    over the hill and through the woods
    Posts
    995
    Damn, I was hoping you would

    Code:
    $ sqlplus /nolog
    
    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.5.0 - Production on Fri Nov 19 10:27:34 2004
    
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    
    SQL> connect / as sysdba
    Connected.
    SQL> select * from V$thread;
    
       THREAD# STATUS ENABLED      GROUPS INSTANCE         OPEN_TIME CURRENT_GROUP#
    ---------- ------ -------- ---------- ---------------- --------- --------------
     SEQUENCE# CHECKPOINT_CHANGE# CHECKPOIN ENABLE_CHANGE# ENABLE_TI DISABLE_CHANGE#
    ---------- ------------------ --------- -------------- --------- ---------------
    DISABLE_T
    ---------
             1 OPEN   PUBLIC            4 gitv             17-NOV-04              2
           622           21610539 17-NOV-04              1 17-AUG-04               0
    
    
    
    SQL> create spfile from pfile;
    create spfile from pfile
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-32002: cannot create SPFILE already being used by the instance
    Oracle it's not just a database it's a lifestyle!
    --------------
    BTW....You need to get a girlfriend who's last name isn't .jpg

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    Damn, I was hoping you would

    So you are the one who is trying to spin me out...

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Why:

    $ sqlplus /nolog

    SQL*Plus: Release 9.2.0.5.0 - Production on Fri Nov 19 10:27:34 2004

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2002, Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.

    SQL> connect / as sysdba

    Why not in just one command:

    sqlplus "/ as sysdba"

    :-)
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Geneva Switzerland
    Posts
    3,142
    Originally posted by julian
    Why not in just one command:
    Paid by line of code?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by DaPi
    Paid by line of code?
    I always find it funny when see people type:

    1. sqlplus /nolog
    2. conn / as sysdba
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Originally posted by OracleDoc
    You know this is pretty good comedy between this thread and that Ora-600 thread, the office is getting a pretty good chuckle out of this.

    Ok look (Reydp) there is no spfile in 8i only in 9i and above. At the command prompt when the database is down you type in create spfile from pfile. Once that spfile is created Oracle will automatically use that instead of the init.ora. Therefore making it possible to change things dynamically.
    you can still change things dynamically with a pfile ya know.

    they just need to be saved in the init.ora as well

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by julian
    I always find it funny when see people type:

    1. sqlplus /nolog
    2. conn / as sysdba
    that's what I'm saying, making life easier.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    178

    Unhappy Comments

    Hello everyone,

    I see that this thread is taking a life of its own.
    The original reason for this posting was that an metalink article that I read indicated that I should try to increase the SESSION parameter in the init.ora file for my Oracle 9i database.

    When deploying my Forms/Reports 9i application over the Web with my Linux server, I get REP-51018 and REP-50004 errors when I try to call WebReports from WebForms.

    1) Any anyone ran into this problem before ?

    2) Would reinstalling Forms/Reports 10g without any SSO (Single Sign ON) feature resolve this matter ?

    I have read that I should use the SYNCHRONIZE keyword before the call to Web.Show_document + make changes to my (report server).conf file + make changes to my rwservlet.properties file.

    3) Any insight into this issue ?

    Regards,

    PT

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    Originally posted by reydp
    that's what I'm saying, making life easier.
    why is that making life easier?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width