connect internal
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: connect internal

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    387

    connect internal

    Hi

    I am using 9i database and I need to connect to the database in a script without the password. When I use connect internal, I am being prompted to enter password, can i login without password? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,331
    RTFM!!!!!!!

    internal doesnt exist in 9i

    use sqlplus "/ as sysdba" if you want internal

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    387
    Thanks! But I tried to login as sysdba in a script, i got the following error...

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01034: ORACLE not available

    My database is up and I have no problem connecting manually.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Delhi, INDIA
    Posts
    1,796
    Originally posted by mooks
    Thanks! But I tried to login as sysdba in a script, i got the following error...

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01034: ORACLE not available

    My database is up and I have no problem connecting manually.
    Check your environment variables, are you setting them in the script.

    Check your connect string, which home are you picking your connect string from.

    Try running sqlplus and try connecting and see are you connecting to the correct database.

    Is the correct database up.
    Amar
    "There is a difference between knowing the path and walking the path."

    Amar's Blog  Get Firefox!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Posts
    387
    Thanks for all advices Will check the script again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Purgatory
    Posts
    346
    I've encountered an 'anomaly' in certain versions of 9i that manifests itself as such.......

    ----------------------------------------

    connect sys@sid_name as sysdba

    gives you an unexpected error

    ----------------------------------------

    Try

    At command prompt - SET ORACLE_SID=SID_NAME

    Where SID_NAME is the instance identifier

    Then SQLPLUS /NOLOG
    Then CONNECT SYS AS SYSDBA

    You never know, it might just work goddamit!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by Horace
    [B]I've encountered an 'anomaly' in certain versions of 9i that manifests itself as such.......

    ----------------------------------------

    connect sys@sid_name as sysdba

    gives you an unexpected error

    ----------------------------------------

    What versions of oracle? what error?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    452
    Well... I think I know the anomaly

    connect "sys@sid_name as sysdba" (within qoutes) may prevent you from facing it
    There are three kinds of lies: Lies, damned lies, and benchmarks...

    Unix is user friendly. It's just very particular about who it's friends are.

    Oracle DBA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width