Change of IP address
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Change of IP address

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391

    Change of IP address

    I have changed my ip-address of my server. my os is hpux 11.0, oracle 8.1.7 . I can telnet to the server. The below shows that i am using /etc/hosts

    nslookup myhost
    using /etc/hosts on : myhost

    looking up FILES
    Name : myhost
    Address : 11.22.33.1

    However, i have problems connecting to oracle with the message

    TNS-12545: Connect failed because target host or object does not exist
    ns secondary err code: 12560
    nt main err code: 515
    TNS-00515: Connect failed because target host or object does not exist
    nt secondary err code: 2
    nt OS err code: 0

    This is resolved by changing the hostname to ip address and both my oracle and listener is up.

    Any advise to what must be done so that i can use the hostname instead of the ip address?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7,333
    yes, change all dns entries to use the correct IP address instead of the old one

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Originally posted by davey23uk
    yes, change all dns entries to use the correct IP address instead of the old one
    What he said.
    I remember when this place was cool.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828
    Hi

    Can you ping ur server by hostname as well as by ipadress

    regards
    Hrishy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    yes, i can ping my server by my hostname and ip address. In my first thread, i specify that i am using /etc/hosts as evidenced by the result of nslookup.

    in hpux 11.0, /etc/nsswitch.conf and /etc/resolv.conf determines how the name is being resolved. and my output of nslookup did specify that i am using /etc/hosts.

    Please advise

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    modify listener.ora

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    okay, what modifications are u referring to ?

    I have changed the hostname to ip address in both listner.ora and tnsnames.ora and my oracle is okay.


    However, my application access this oracle has some issues with the hostnames itself.

    Please advise

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    sounds like a naming issue. Substitute your ip number for the hostname in the tnsnames.ora.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    335
    Originally posted by yls177
    yes, i can ping my server by my hostname and ip address. In my first thread, i specify that i am using /etc/hosts as evidenced by the result of nslookup.

    in hpux 11.0, /etc/nsswitch.conf and /etc/resolv.conf determines how the name is being resolved. and my output of nslookup did specify that i am using /etc/hosts.

    Please advise
    Can you reverse nslookup?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    391
    Originally posted by marist89
    sounds like a naming issue. Substitute your ip number for the hostname in the tnsnames.ora.
    right. that is going to work for the oracle side. but i have problems with my SAP since it uses the hostname as well. And i cant change this to ip address.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width