DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: changing archivelog destination

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38

    changing archivelog destination

    Hello all,

    Is it possible to change the archivelogs destination on a live database. I have oracle 10g on linux. We are not using the DB_RECOVERY_FILE_DEST , instead are using ARCHIVELOG_DEST. Can someone let me know the steps to change this parameter. Will doing the following work

    cp

    alter system set ARCHIVELOG_DEST ''

    Will this affect the current archived logs


    Thanks for your help
    --K

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    Hello,

    A correction in my original post

    What I meant to say was

    Will the following work

    # cp old_archive_logs new_location/old_archive_logs

    sql> alter system set ARCHIVE_LOG_DEST 'new location'

    Thanks
    --K

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    736
    certainly u can change the archive log destination dynamically by using the command what u mentioned.Then check the database archive process that it shouldn't stuck and here should be normal database activity.suppose the archive process is stuck then use
    sql>Alter system archive log stop
    sql>alter system archive log start

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by k007

    # cp old_archive_logs new_location/old_archive_logs

    sql> alter system set ARCHIVE_LOG_DEST 'new location'

    I wouldn't do that. The database keeps track of where it archived the redo to. By moving it by hand your backup program could lose it depending on how smart it is.

    Just:
    ALTER SYSTEM LOG ARCHIVE START TO 'new_location';

    If you want to change it permanently, change your init.ora file or set your parameter with scope=pfile.
    Jeff Hunter

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    It is nothing wrong to change the destination.
    In fact, you should be familarize this quite often. This will help you whenever arch dest is full, you must be in a position to change the location.
    See below:
    PHP Code:
    SQL>
    SQLalter system set log_archive_dest_1='location=/tmp' ;

    System altered.

    SQLalter system switch logfile;

    System altered.


    [ /
    tmp ]
    UAT:SID=SBLTEST=>ls -al *.arc
    -rw-r-----   1 oracle   dba            1024 Oct 26 08:24 sbltest_log_0000000033.arc


    SQL
    alter system set log_archive_dest_1='location=/opt/sblppr2/arch1/SBLTEST/arch' ;

    System altered.

    SQL>
    SQLalter system switch logfile;

    System altered.


    -
    rw-r-----   1 oracle   dba         2796032 Oct 23 20:22 sbltest_log_0000000031.arc
    -rw-r-----   1 oracle   dba         7543808 Oct 26 08:21 sbltest_log_0000000032.arc
    -rw-r-----   1 oracle   dba            6144 Oct 26 08:26 sbltest_log_0000000034.arc
    drwxr
    -sr-x   2 oracle   dba            1024 Oct 26 08:26 ./

    [ /
    opt/sblppr2/arch1/SBLTEST/arch ]
    UAT:SID=SBLTEST=> 
    sql>Alter system archive log stop
    sql>alter system archive log start
    Those 2 statements are not needed in 9i. W/o stop you change the destination.


    Tamil
    Last edited by tamilselvan; 10-26-2004 at 09:33 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    38
    Hello all,

    Thanks for the reponses.

    When I had first configured archivelogs, I set the parameter
    ARCHIVE_LOG_DEST = /x/y/z

    I am using oracle 10g

    Will it be possible for me to use
    ARCHIVE_LOG_DEST_1="location=/a/b/c"
    now ?

    or it would not allow to use ARCHIVE_LOG_DEST_n parameter since ARCHIVE_LOG_DEST is already set ?

    Thanks
    --K

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width